由MagniX供電的de Havilland Beaver首次進行全電動飛行後便被從水中拖出。去年,magniX證明了他們的電動機可以為通勤飛機提供動力,該通勤飛機最多可搭載40名乘客。 現在,該公司正在進入增長和發展的下一階段,通過在Everett的新工廠鞏固其運營。

新總部將把雷德蒙德和澳大利亞的工程中心合併為位於潘恩菲爾德(Paine Field)的40,000平方英尺的建築。 此舉將使公司的工程,生產,測試和管理團隊集於一身。 到2021年中期,magniX預計將至少有60名員工。

該公司的近期重點是通勤市場,它提供了一種全電動,零排放的推進系統,該系統可以載運長達1,000英里的路線上的乘客。

MagniX表示,每飛行小時的成本約為300美元,而不是同等大小的汽油動力飛機的成本為1,500美元。 最初,該公司計劃使用magniX的圓柱電動機對現有的渦輪發動機飛機進行改造。

去年五月,該公司使用改裝後的塞斯納大篷車進行了試飛。 他們正在與不列顛哥倫比亞省溫哥華市的Harbor Air合作,以轉換其de Havilland Beavers機隊,並將尋求商業航班的認證。 五人座的海狸最早可在2022年末獲得認證,而11-2023名乘客的塞斯納大篷車則可在XNUMX年獲得認證。

長期而言,magniX希望其發電廠為新一代全電動飛機提供動力,並正在與初創公司緊密合作,從頭開始開發新設計。 這些創業公司之一是Eviation,它設計了一種全電動飛機,稱為愛麗絲(Alice),可在440英里的路線上載送2020名乘客。 該公司於XNUMX年在阿靈頓市機場租賃了三個機庫,以組裝該系列的首批飛機。

閱讀更多有關magniX的信息 西雅圖時報.

The MagniX powered de Havilland Beaver is hauled from the water following its first all-electric flight.Last year, magniX proved that their electric motors could power a commuter plane that could carry up to 40 passengers. Now the company is moving to the next stage of growth and development, consolidating its operations at a new facility in Everett.

The new headquarters will combine Redmond and Australia’s engineering centers into a 40,000 square-foot building at Paine Field. The move will bring the company’s engineering, production, testing, and administration teams under a single roof. By mid-2021, magniX expects to have at least 60 employees on the payroll.

The company’s near-term focus is on the commuter market, offering an all-electric, zero-emission propulsion system that can carry passengers on routes up to 1,000 miles.

MagniX says the cost is about $300 per flight hour instead of $1,500 for gas-powered planes of the same size. Initially, the company plans to retrofit existing turbine-powered aircraft with magniX’s cylindrical electric motors.

Last May, the company did a test flight using a converted Cessna Caravan. They are working with Harbour Air in Vancouver, B.C. to convert its fleet of de Havilland Beavers and will seek certification for commercial flights. The five-passenger Beaver could be certified as early as late 2022 and the nine to 11 passenger Cessna Caravan in 2023.

Long-term, magniX wants its power plants to power a new generation of all-electric aircraft and is working closely with startups to develop new designs from the ground up. One of these startups is Eviation, which has designed an all-electric plane known as Alice that could carry nine passengers on routes up to 440 miles. The company leased three hangars at the Arlington Municipal Airport in 2020 to assemble the first planes in the series.

Read more about magniX in The Seattle Times.

 

 

Translate »