得克薩斯州的一切可能都更大,但就電子遊戲而言,華盛頓州是最大的巨頭。

至少那是 一份新的報告 娛樂軟件協會(ESA)發布的內容說。 華盛頓在美國排名第二,遊戲業的經濟投入達到了2億美元。 加利福尼亞,佔該國遊戲開發工作的一半,佔11.6億美元。

華盛頓在遊戲產業中擁有悠久的歷史,其歷史可以追溯到1980年代任天堂在該州開設美國總部時,正當其最初的NES系統開始佔領世界時。 緊隨其後的是Microsoft的Xbox,海岸奇才,Big Fish,Valve和Amazon Game Studios,進一步提高了該州作為遊戲設計頂級玩家的地位。

該報告稱直接行業的就業機會略超過15,000,如果考慮供應商網絡,華盛頓約有48,800的工作與遊戲業有關。

ESA跟踪151家與該州遊戲產業相關的發行商,開發商,硬件公司和其他業務。 上市公司 從像這樣的單人商店 東影工作室 公司跨國公司,例如Microsoft,Twitch和ArenaNet。 這項研究未包括Kalypso Media和Lightfox Games等較新的公司,因此最新數字仍落後於實際行業的增長。

具有諷刺意味的是,遊戲的飛速發展部分是由於流行病的流行,這種流行病迫使數百萬美國人尋找新的方式在家娛樂自己。 增長也是驚人的。 45至54歲的美國人在電子遊戲上的花費比前一年多了75%。 五分之四的美國消費者表示,在過去六個月中他們曾玩過電子遊戲。

隨著疫苗的普及和人們開始將幻想世界變成現實世界,這種趨勢是否會持續到2021年及以後還有待觀察。 當然可以希望如此。

閱讀它 Geekwire.

Everything may be bigger in Texas but when it comes to video games, Washington State is the giant.

At least, that’s what a new report published by the Entertainment Software Association (ESA) says. Washington finished #2 in the U.S., with economic input from the gaming industry clocking in at $11.6 billion. California, which accounts for half of the country’s game development efforts, accounted for $51 billion.

Washington has a rich history in the gaming industry, dating back to the 1980s when Nintendo opened its American headquarters in the state, just as their original NES system began to take over the world. On their heels came Microsoft’s Xbox, Wizards of the Coast, Big Fish, Valve and Amazon Game Studios, further increasing the state’s stature as a top-tier player in game design.

The report put direct industry jobs at a little over 15,000, and if you factor in the supplier network, about 48,800 jobs in Washington are related to the gaming industry.

The ESA tracks 151 publishers, developers, hardware companies and other businesses that are associated with the state’s games industry in one way other another. The listed companies range from one-person shops like Eastshade Studios to corporate multinationals such as Microsoft, Twitch, and ArenaNet. Newer companies such as Kalypso Media and Lightfox Games were not included in the study so the latest numbers still lag behind actual industry growth.

In an ironic twist, the tremendous growth in gaming is due in part to the pandemic, which has forced millions of Americans to find new ways to entertain themselves at home. The increase is dramatic too. Americans between the ages of 45 and 54 spent 75% more money on video games than the previous year. Four out of five American consumers reported that they had played a video game in the last six months.

It remains to be seen if this trend will continue into 2021 and beyond, as vaccines become available and people begin to leave their fantasy worlds for the real one. One can certainly hope so.

Read about it in Geekwire.

 

 

Translate »