Contact Us

The Seattle office of the Washington State Department of Commerce makes it easy to do business in Washington, creating jobs and economic prosperity statewide. The Office of Economic Development & Competitiveness (OEDC) team offers real-world business experience and their results-oriented approach is focused on your business needs. We provide businesses and investors with adaptive and customized programs and services that meet their specific needs so they can increase sales, enter new markets, find new partners, make substantial investments in the state, expand strategically, identify and adovocate legislative changes, find new funding sources and hire and train more workers. The OEDC includes 1) Sector Leads, 2) Business Development, 3) Export Assistance 4) Startup365 Washington, 5) Marketing Services and 6) Operations.

Office of Economic Development & Competitiveness

Sector Leads

  • Joshua Berger, Director of Economic Development for the Maritime Sector - (206) 256-6104
  • Brian Hatfield, Director of Economic Development for the Forest Products Sector - (360) 819-2936
  • Maura Little, Director of Economic Development for the Life Sciences Sector - (206) 256-6107
  • Kristiné Reeves, Director, Military & Defense Sector - (206) 256-6105
  • John Thornquist, Director, Office of Aerospace - (206) 256-6103
  • Brian Young, Director of Economic Development for the Clean Technology Sector - (206) 256-6129

Business Development Team

  • Allison Clark, Managing Director of Business Development - (206) 256-6124
  • Aline Allonas, Research Program Manager - (206) 256-6145
  • Susan St. Germain, Senior Business Development Manager - (206) 256-6114
  • Jane Swanson, Small Business Credit Initiative (SSBCI) Project Manager - (206) 256-6155

Export Assistance Team

Startup 365 Washington

Marketing Services Team

Operations Team

For general business inquiries, call (206) 256-6100 or email

We are located in the Westin Tower, 2001 6th Ave, Suite #2600, Seattle, WA 98121.

Office Hours: 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday