建立社區驅動的項目管道。

T機會區激勵措施是國會在2017年《減稅和就業法案》中建立的一種新的社區投資工具,旨在鼓勵在全國范圍內的低收入城市和農村社區進行長期投資。 機會區為投資者提供稅收優惠,以將其未實現的資本收益重新投資到專用的機會基金中。 有關商機區域如何工作的更多信息,請參閱頁面底部的鏈接。

根據聯邦機會區法律,在2018年XNUMX月將普查區指定為機會區之後,各州沒有正式作用。因此,我們與舊金山聯邦儲備委員會和國家發展委員會(NDC)一起遊遍華盛頓州,聽取了哪些內容社區不得不說。

我們了解到,許多人已經有了由社區推動的催化項目的清單,但他們需要:

  • 提供技術援助,使這些項目從構思到投資就緒
  • 幫助將項目展示在合適的投資者面前
  • 協助社區建設能力和專業知識

作為回應,華盛頓州正在與NDC,聯邦,州和慈善合作夥伴合作,以試行生態系統的開發,該生態系統將創建一系列由社區推動的催化項目,並建立社區財富。 儘管我們正在與城市地區的合作夥伴合作,但我們主要專注於部落和農村社區,特別著重於合作。

機會區流程圖表。

關於華盛頓

此信息圖表看起來像一個無限符號也不是巧合–這是因為我們的目標是創建一個 可持續性發展 有助於社區的生態系統和交易管道-在未來幾年內-建立催化性的社區驅動項目。

我們的可持續生態系統和交易管道的關鍵要素包括:

  • 創建學習社區:根據西北慈善​​基金會的“捐贈實踐”工作,該社區將向本州所有機會區開放。
  • 提供技術援助:國家發展委員會與美國商務部簽訂了為期兩年的合同,以向社區提供援助,但我們也嚴重依賴主要的聯邦,州和慈善合作夥伴。
  • 促進社區與資助者之間的關係。
  • 尋找用於建設社區能力和使項目準備就緒的投資的資金。
  • 評估影響力:我們正在與Sorenson Impact Center,Mission Investors Exchange等合作。
  • 而且……我們將繼續傾聽和向社區學習!

關於我們提供的技術幫助的更多信息:

該圖顯示了該州的商機區域工作流程。

機會區路線圖

想更多地了解機會區?

有關華盛頓州的更新,請聯繫 莎拉·李(Sarah Lee) 在華盛頓州商務部

Building a pipeline of community-driven projects.

The Opportunity Zones incentive is a new community investment tool established by Congress in the Tax Cuts and Jobs Act of 2017 to encourage long-term investments in low-income urban and rural communities nationwide. Opportunity Zones provide a tax incentive for investors to reinvest their unrealized capital gains into dedicated Opportunity Funds. For more information about how Opportunity Zones work, see the links at the bottom of the page.

Under the federal Opportunity Zone law, states have no formal role after designating census tracts as Opportunity Zones in April, 2018. So we traveled throughout Washington State with the Federal Reserve Board of San Francisco and the National Development Council (NDC) to listen to what communities had to say.

We learned that many already have a list of catalytic community-driven projects, but that they need:

  • Technical assistance to get these projects from idea to investment-ready
  • Help getting projects in front of the right investors
  • Assistance in building capacity and expertise in their communities

In response, Washington State is working with NDC, federal, state and philanthropic partners to pilot the development of an ecosystem that creates a pipeline of catalytic, community-driven projects and builds community wealth. Although we are working with our partners in urban areas, we are primarily focusing on Tribal and rural communities, with a special emphasis on collaborations.

Chart of the opportunity zone process.

About Washington

And it’s no coincidence that this infographic looks like an infinity symbol – that’s because our goal is to create a Sustainable Ecosystem & Deal Pipeline that helps communities — for years to come — build catalytic community-driven projects.

Key elements of our Sustainable Ecosystem & Deal Pipeline include:

  • Create a Learning Community: This will be open to all Opportunity Zones in our state, based on Philanthropy Northwest’s Giving Practice work.
  • Provide Technical Assistance: National Development Council has a two-year contract with Commerce to provide assistance to communities, but we are also leaning heavily on key federal, state and philanthropic partners.
  • Facilitate relationships between communities & funders.
  • Find funding for building community capacity and getting projects investment-ready.
  • Measure impact: We’re working with Sorenson Impact Center, Mission Investors Exchange and others.
  • And…we will continue to listen & learn from communities!

A little more on the technical assistance we are offering:

A chart showing the state's Opportunity Zones workflow.

Want to know more about Opportunity Zones?

For Washington State updates, contact Sarah Lee at the Washington State Department of Commerce

Share
Translate »