四个人通过罐头听谣言

传闻

对华盛顿州的我们来说,令人惊讶的是,这个世界上还有人仍然不知道我们是一个多么适合工作、娱乐甚至安顿下来的好州。

也许正是这些年来我们听到的那些令人讨厌的谣言掩盖了人们的看法。 因此,让我们来看看其中的一些谣言,了解它们并直面它们:

#1 我们的税收很高。

我们很确定人类历史上没有人说过,“哇哦,我的税要涨了!” 作为企业、企业家或投资者,您应该知道华盛顿没有个人或公司所得税。 根据您的企业规模,工伤补偿、失业和公司税等费用可能比其他一些州少,甚至少得多。 企业对其收入征税,称为 B&O 税。 但是,与吹捧“低税收”的其他一些州相比,有税收减免、减免和抵免可以帮助您赚得更多,支付的更少。 在 2021 年税收基金会最佳税收环境排名中,华盛顿排名第 16 位。

#2 我们是一击必杀的奇迹。

在 1970 年代确实如此,也许当时航空航天还没有成为主要的声望。 虽然航空航天仍然是我们经济的重要组成部分,但如今从事信息和通信技术工作的人数远多于航空航天。 如今,亚马逊、微软、Facebook、谷歌和数千家其他 ICT 公司等公司是主要推动者。 生命科学、先进制造、清洁技术、农业/食品制造和海事等其他部门为我们的经济增添了巨大的多样性。 我们甚至没有提到生物技术、商业空间、自动驾驶汽车和无人系统等新集群。 不过,您必须承认,我们的第一个举动——开创了负担得起的商用喷气机旅行时代——并不太寒酸。

#3 一直在下雨。

当然,这取决于你在哪里。 如果您站在太平洋岸边,您可能会时不时地被淋湿,尤其是当您在地球上为数不多的温带雨林之一——奥林匹克国家森林中徒步旅行时。 在内陆旅行并使用西雅图作为(雨量)计,大约 9.4% 的时间会下雨,这意味着华盛顿西部有 90.6% 的时间是干燥的。 相比之下,休斯顿、新奥尔良、孟菲斯、莫比尔、纳什维尔、纽约、费城和迈阿密的年降雨量都比西雅图多。 由于山脉相互作用的方式,华盛顿西部可以拥有长时间的“过滤阳光”。 这是我们对阴天或阴天但没有毛毛雨、薄雾或下雨的几天或几周的术语。 如果您是太阳崇拜者,那么华盛顿东部的某些地区每年的晴天比佛罗里达还要多。 雪? 我们尽量将它保存在它所属的山上,这样我们就可以从远处惊叹它的原始美景。

            关于华盛顿

#4 最低工资为每小时 15 美元。

曾经有媒体大吵大闹,华盛顿的一些城市将最低工资定为每小时 15 美元。 人们说,付这么多钱让一个人整天翻汉堡实在是太离谱了(我们猜这些批评家从来没有做过这种艰苦的工作)。 但是,随着数以万计的职位空缺而没有人急于填补这些职位,我们想知道为什么其他州不至少给他们的员工一些赚取体面工资的机会。 华盛顿州 14.49 年的最低工资为每小时 2022 美元,与通货膨胀挂钩,因此工人不会年复一年地失去购买力。 德克萨斯州的最低工资为每小时 7.25 美元。 乔治亚州? 每小时 5.15 美元,如果您也接受小费,则为 2.13 美元。 不,这不是打字错误,也绝对不是开玩笑。 在桃子州,你必须工作一个多小时才能买得起你正在翻肉饼的巨无霸餐。

#5 交通很糟糕。

大多数增长中的经济体的交通都很糟糕,所以这不足为奇。 再加上一些自然地理,如湖泊、丘陵和山脉,从 A 点直线到达 B 点几乎是不可能的。 但是离开埃弗雷特-西雅图-塔科马走廊,交通会很轻松。 在该州更多的农村地区,您会发现闯红灯是一项挑战——没有闯红灯。 由于生活质量和成为小池塘中的大鱼的机会,许多企业选择设在较小的社区。 由于该州不是那么大,所以住在一个交通很少、人们仍然不锁门、每个人都认识他们的邻居的地方的同时,很容易享受主要大都市中心的所有兴奋。 设想!

#6 总统住在这里。

如果你在谈论美国总统,对不起,说错了华盛顿。 但是,如果您谈论的是美国一些最大的商业传奇人物的总裁——亚马逊、Costco、微软、Nordstrom、Paccar、REI 和星巴克,仅举几例——以及近 XNUMX 万家其他企业的总裁国家,然后你会发现总统(和首席执行官)无处不在。 如果你想见见真正的总统,我们提供直飞华盛顿的航班,后面是华盛顿特区。

#7 风景经过 Photoshop 处理。

毫无疑问,您已经看过那些被雄伟山脉环绕的华盛顿西部城市的令人惊叹的照片,其中包括雷尼尔山,它是美国本土 48 个州中最高的山峰。 这些照片是真实的(除了里面有大脚野人的照片)。 华盛顿西部的东边是喀斯喀特山脉,西边是奥林匹克山脉,南边是雷尼尔山,北边是贝克山。 在北部,您还会发现圣胡安群岛,这是一片由近 200 个岛屿组成的绿洲。 在华盛顿东部,拥有一望无际的肥沃农田、连绵起伏的丘陵、古老的森林、广阔的平原,甚至还有一个迷你大峡谷——哥伦比亚(河)峡谷。 即使是终生居住的居民,也会继续对这种令人瞠目结舌的风景感到敬畏,这些风景似乎无处不在。

#8 华盛顿在偏僻的地方。

让我们从阿拉斯加和夏威夷远在偏僻的地方开始。 他们甚至没有连接到另一个美国州。 华盛顿自豪地坐在美国最左上角。 我们北边是加拿大不列颠哥伦比亚省,南边是俄勒冈州,东边是爱达荷州,西边是太平洋,顺便说一下,这让我们的一些港口每天都能快速获得产品往返亚洲主要市场。 如果您在欧洲和亚洲市场开展业务,我们在两大洲之间的距离相等。 从西雅图出发的直飞航班将我们连接到美国和世界各地的主要城市,我们的铁路系统和高速公路将企业连接到北美洲、中美洲和南美洲的每个城市。 嗯,这听起来一点也不遥远。

#9 我们都是一群伐木工人和牛仔*。

一百年前这曾经是真的,尽管时髦运动短暂地让伐木工人的胡须回归,而 Grunge 运动则严重倾向于伐木工人格子布作为一种时尚宣言。 虽然我们仍然珍视使我们成为独特文化的先驱精神,但在重塑和重新定义整个世界时,我们正处于困境之中。 如果您手里拿着拿铁咖啡,正在打电话,乘坐过大型喷气式飞机,让您的心跳加速,演奏电贝司,随着 Jimi Hendrix 的曲调跳动,或者对 Slinky Dog 怀有怀旧的联系,那么您我们要感谢。 我们用我们的创造力、创新和发明改变了世界。 我们继续以新的想法挑战最前沿,这些想法撼动了市场,塑造了世界,并经常成为文化偶像——你能说 Funko 吗? 打赌你可以!**

** 如果你以罗杰斯先生的风格说出来,那就更有趣了。

#10 我们真是惊天动地。

嗯,谢谢? 如果您在谈论我们的经济以及我们在创新和发明方面的声誉,那么是的,我们在这个时代已经摇晃了一些笼子。 如果你在谈论地震,是的,它们不时发生。 大多数甚至感觉不到。 上一次造成任何真正破坏的大地震发生在 1949 年、1965 年和 2001 年,因此它们很少而且相距甚远。 大多数发生在该州的西侧,因为从火山角度来看,那里的地质流体要多一些。 从历史上看,它们对我们经济的破坏远低于该国其他地区发生的更为频繁和致命的龙卷风、飓风和洪水。 另外,所有这些构造板块的作用创造了我们惊人的山脉——这是一个很好的权衡,你不觉得吗?

#11 Seahawks 门票是我们奖励计划的一部分。

我们祝愿。 如果是这样的话,每个人都会在这里开展业务(无论如何他们都应该这样做)。 就连席亚拉也很难得分,而她丈夫是四分卫。 然而,如果比赛门票确实是一个交易破坏者,我们可能会在即将在伦顿体育场举行的 Hazen Highlanders 比赛中在 50 码线上挥动几张门票。 您可以在途中直接开车经过海鹰队的训练设施。

* 顺便说一下,我们在华盛顿仍然有伐木工人和牛仔。 我们的林产品和农业/食品加工业是经济的巨大推动力,我们为这些人所做的工作感到非常自豪。

需要帮助?

我们的业务专家将为您服务!

Four people listen through cans to a rumor

The Rumor Mill

​It’s amazing to us here in Washington State that there are people in this world who still don’t know what a great state we are to work, play and even settle down in.

Perhaps it’s those pesky rumors we’ve heard over the years that clouds people’s perceptions. So let’s take a look at some of these rumors, shine a light on them and address them head on:

#1 We have high taxes.

We are pretty certain that no one in all of human history has said, “Woohoo, my taxes are going up!” As a business, entrepreneur or investor, you should know that Washington doesn’t have a personal or corporate income tax. Depending on the size of your business, the cost of things like workers’ compensation, unemployment and corporate taxes can be less, even much less, than some other states. Businesses pay a tax on their revenue, known as the B&O tax. But there are tax breaks, deductions and credits to help you make more and pay less than some of those other states who tout their “low taxes.” In the 2021 Tax Foundation rankings of best tax climates, Washington ranked 16th.

#2  We’re a one-hit wonder.

That was true in the 1970s, perhaps when aerospace was out major claim to fame. While aerospace continues to be an important part of our economy, far more people work in information and communication technology than aerospace these days. Companies like Amazon, Microsoft, Facebook, Google and thousands of other ICT companies are prime drivers these days. Other sectors such as life science, advanced manufacturing, clean tech, agriculture/food manufacturing and maritime have added tremendous diversity to our economy. And we’re not even mentioning new clusters such as biotech, commercial space, autonomous vehicles and unmanned systems. You have to admit though that our first act – ushering in the age of affordable commercial jet travel – wasn’t too shabby.

#3  It rains all the time.

That depends where you are, of course. If you’re standing on the shore of the Pacific Ocean, you’ll probably get soaked now and then, especially if you’re hiking one of the few temperate rain forests on the planet, the Olympic National Forest. Traveling inland and using Seattle as the (rain) gauge, it rains about 9.4% of the time, which means 90.6% of the time it is dry in Western Washington. For comparison, Houston, New Orleans, Memphis, Mobile, Nashville, New York, Philadelphia and Miami all get more annual rainfall than Seattle.  Because of the way the mountain ranges interact, Western Washington can have long periods of “filtered sunshine.” This is our term for the days or weeks when it’s gray and overcast but not drizzling, misting or raining. If you are a sun worshipper, some parts of Eastern Washington have more sunny days annually than Florida. Snow? We try to keep it up in the mountains where it belongs so we can marvel at its pristine beauty from afar.

            About Washington

#4  The minimum wage is $15 per hour.

There used to be a big hubbub in the media that some cities in Washington had set the minimum wage at $15 per hour. People said it was outrageous to pay someone that much to flip burgers all day (it’s our guess these critics never did this grueling type of work). But with tens of thousands of jobs open and no one rushing to fill them, we’re wondering why other states aren’t giving their employees at least some chance of earning a decent wage. The minimum wage in Washington State is a respectable $13.69 an hour this year and is tied to inflation so workers don’t lose buying power from year to year. Texas’ minimum wage is $7.25 an hour. Georgia? $5.15 an hour, $2.13 if you also accept tips. No, that’s not a typo, and it’s definitely not a joke. In the Peach State you’d have to work more than an hour to afford one of those Big Mac Meals you were flipping patties for.

#5  Traffic sucks.

Traffic sucks in most growing economies, so this shouldn’t come as a surprise. Add in some natural geography such as lakes, hills and mountains and getting from Point A to Point B in a straight line can be next to impossible. But get outside of the Everett-Seattle-Tacoma corridor and traffic is easy-breezy. In the more rural parts of the state you’ll find it a challenge to run a red light – there aren’t any. Many businesses choose to locate in smaller communities because of the quality of life and the chance to be a big fish in a small pond. Since the state isn’t that large, it’s easy to enjoy all the excitement of a major metropolitan center while living in a place where there’s little traffic, people still leave their doors unlocked, and everyone knows their neighbor. Imagine that!

#6  The President lives here.

If you’re talking about the President of the United States, sorry, wrong Washington. But if you’re talking about the presidents of some of the biggest business legends in the U.S. – Amazon, Costco, Microsoft, Nordstrom, Paccar, REI and Starbucks, to name a few – as well as the nearly a half million other business throughout the state, then you’ll find presidents (and CEOs) everywhere. If you want to see the actual President, we offer direct flights to that other Washington, the one with D.C. after it.

#7  The scenery is Photoshopped.

No doubt you’ve seen those stunning photos of Western Washington cities framed by majestic mountains, including Mt. Rainier, which is the tallest mountain in the lower 48 states. Those photos are real (except the ones with Sasquatch in them). Western Washington is flanked by the Cascade Mountains to the east, Olympics to the west, Mt. Rainier to the south and Mt. Baker to the north. To the north, you’ll also find the San Juan Islands, an oasis of nearly 200 islands. In Eastern Washington, there are endless vistas of rich agricultural land, rolling hills, old-growth forests, vast plains and even a mini-Grand Canyon – the Columbia (River) Gorge. Even lifelong residents continue to be in awe of the jaw-dropping scenery that seems to pop up out of nowhere around every turn.

#8  Washington is in the middle of nowhere.

Let’s start with the fact that Alaska and Hawaii are far are way more middle of nowhere; they’re not even connected to another U.S. state. Washington proudly sits in the far upper left corner of the United States. We are bordered to the north by the Canadian Province of British Columbia, Oregon to the south, Idaho to the east, and to the west, the Pacific Ocean, which by the way, gives a few of our ports a day’s jump on getting products to and from major Asia markets. If you do business in European and Asian markets, we’re equidistant between the two continents. Direct flights from Seattle connect us to major cities throughout the U.S. and the world, and our rail system and highways connect businesses to every city in North, Central and South America. Hmm, that doesn’t sound very remote at all.

#9  We’re all a bunch of lumberjacks and cowboys*.

That used to be true a hundred years ago, even though the hipster movement brought back lumberjack beards briefly, and the Grunge movement leaned heavily toward lumberjack plaids as a fashion statement. While we still cherish the pioneer spirit that makes us unique as a culture, we are in the thick of things when it comes to reshaping and redefining the world at large. If you have a latte in your hand, are talking on a cellphone, have flown on a jumbo jet, had your heart jumpstarted, play the electric bass, groove to the tunes of Jimi Hendrix or have a nostalgic connection to a Slinky Dog, you have us to thank. We have changed the world with our creativity, innovation and invention. We continue to challenge the bleeding edge with new ideas that shake the market, shape the world, and often become cultural icons – can you say Funko? Bet ya can!**

** This is way funnier if you say it in the style of Mister Rogers.

#10  We’re pretty earthshaking.

Um, thank you? If you’re talking about our economy and our reputation for innovation and invention, then yes, we’ve rattled a few cages in our time. If you’re talking about earthquakes, yes, they happen from time to time. Most can’t even be felt. The last large quakes that caused any real damage were in 1949, 1965 and 2001, so they’re pretty few and far between. Most occur on the west side of the state since the geology there is a little more fluid in volcanic terms. Historically they have disrupted our economy far less than the tornadoes, hurricanes and floods in other parts of the country that are far more frequent and deadly. Plus, all that tectonic plate action created our amazing mountain ranges – a pretty good tradeoff, don’t you think?

#11  Seahawks tickets are part of our incentive package.

We wish. If that were the case, everyone would be locating a business here (which they should do anyway). Even Ciara has trouble scoring tickets, and her husband’s the quarterback. However, if game tickets are indeed a deal-breaker, we could probably swing a couple of tickets on the 50-yard line at an upcoming Hazen Highlanders game in Renton Stadium. You can drive right by the Seahawks training facility on the way.

* We still have lumberjacks and cowboys in Washington, by the way. Our forest products and agriculture/food processing industries are huge drivers of the economy and we’re pretty proud of the work these folks do.

Need Assistance?

Our business experts are standing by!