艺术家对西雅图21世纪博览会的演绎,背景为太空针塔历史上的垃圾箱里充斥着关于未来前景的著名错误预测。

然而,1962年,华盛顿州邀请全世界到西雅图来一睹未来。 场合,世界博览会; 这是20多年来在美国举行的第一次。 博览会被正式称为21世纪博览会,将华盛顿州列在世界地图上。 在一个以冒险着称的州,这是一项大胆的冒险,商业领袖,立法者和居民都以极大的热情承担了这一风险。

在博览会上与我见面……

福特,通用汽车,IBM和贝尔电话等主要公司都作为主要参展商签约,35个国家,新的航天局NASA以及数百家较小的企业和供应商也都作为主要参展商。 商务部也尽了自己的一份力量,为 The Lancers的主题曲。 甚至还有未来派的单轨火车。 首次在大城市提供常规服务。 它将在96秒内将乘客从市中心运送到露天市场。

当他们到达那里时,西雅图的埃菲尔铁塔版本的太空针塔标志着他们的到来。 605英尺的尖塔仅用了13个月便建成。 它不仅成为博览会的象征,而且也成为城市的象征。

展望未来

太空针塔和单轨铁路并非仅是对未来的一瞥。 Century 21正确地预测了壁式电视屏幕的出现,在这里孩子们可以玩电子游戏,无绳电动工具的发展,有声读物和数字图书馆的普及以及未来的房屋将变得如此聪明,以至于您可以打开灯或取暖开启和关闭手机。

贝尔实验室展示了诸如按键拨号,呼叫等待和呼叫转移之类的新想法,这些功能将在十年后成为常态。 西雅图时报记者采访的一位三年级生预测说,我们口袋里有电话。 不,他的名字不是史蒂夫·乔布斯。 未来的房子展示了一台家用计算机,该计算机将能够平衡支票账户和从超市订购杂货。

在厨房里,由于冷冻干燥和辐射的奇迹,家庭可以期待加热并提供食物。 可以在短短几分钟内将食物放在袋子里煮沸(参展商错过了微波炉的创意),每个家庭成员都可以在晚餐时享用自己喜欢的食物。

在未来的图书馆中,大量的馆藏将存储在“信息检索机”中,而传真机将使文档在几分钟之内通过电话线发送到其他分支机构甚至某人的家中。

贝尔电话公司总裁 WW Straley 似乎拥有神秘的力量。 他预测组成普吉特海湾地区的九个县的人口在 4,320,000 世纪将达到 21。 2018 年,人口为 4,369,625。

他说:“我们现在的城镇将成为一个连续的大都市地区。 人们不知道何时离开一个城镇而进入另一个城镇。”

重大的成功和持久的印象

在几乎所有方面,世纪21博览会都超出了预期。 这是历史上仅有的两个赚钱的世博会之一。 在21年21月1962日至10月XNUMX日期间,将近XNUMX万游客通过了大门。 甚至猫王埃尔维斯·普雷斯利(Elvis Presley)也出现在电影中 它发生在世界博览会上 与七岁的Vicky Tiu Liu,后来成为夏威夷的第一夫人。 其他著名的参观者包括小萨米·戴维斯(Sammy Davis),劳伦斯·韦尔克(Lawrence Welk),约翰·韦恩(John Wayne),副总裁林登·约翰逊(Lyndon Johnson),迪斯尼乐园(Walt Disney),乔治·伯恩斯(George Burns)和宇航员约翰·格伦(John Glenn)。 甚至Lassie也有时间参观展览会。

博览会闭幕后,这座城市将集市场变成了一个城市公园,西雅图中心。 如今,参观公园的游客仍然可以看到博览会的遗迹,包括标志性的太空针塔,关键竞技场(在21世纪是华盛顿州馆),科学中心(曾是美国科学展览)和古老的单轨火车,仍然将市中心和西雅图中心连接起来。

也许更重要的是,世界博览会将西雅图和华盛顿州放在了地图上。 该地区不再是美国西北角的偏远哨所,而是成为了经济霸主和国际贸易中心。 它帮助催生了不断改变世界的新想法,新创新和大胆的公司。 1962年没有人能预料到这一点:世界上最美丽,最多样化和最折衷的大城市之一的未来。

An artist's rendition of the Century 21 Exposition in Seattle with the Space Needle in the backgroundThe dustbin of history is littered with famously bad predictions about what the future holds.

And yet, in 1962 Washington State invited the world to Seattle to get a glimpse of the future. The occasion, a world’s fair, the first to be held in the United States for more than 20 years. Known officially as the Century 21 Exposition, the fair put Washington State on the world map. It was a bold risk in a state known for taking risks, one that business leaders, legislators and residents took on with unbridled enthusiasm.

Meet me in Seattle at the fair…

Major companies such as Ford, General Motors, IBM and Bell Telephone all signed on for exhibits, as did 35 countries, the new space agency NASA, and hundreds of smaller businesses and vendors. The Department of Commerce did its part too, contributing a theme song by The Lancers. There was even the futuristic Monorail; the first one put into regular service in a major city. It would shuttle passengers from downtown to the fairgrounds in just 96 seconds.

And when they got there, Seattle’s version of the Eiffel Tower, The Space Needle, marked their arrival. The 605-foot spire was constructed in just eight short months. It not only became a symbol of the fair, but also the city.

A glimpse into the future

The Space Needle and Monorail weren’t the only glimpses into the future. Century 21 correctly predicted the advent of wall-sized television screens where kids could play video games, the development of cordless power tools, the popularity of audiobooks and digital libraries, and future homes that would be so smart that you could turn the lights or heat on and off with your phone.

Bell Labs showed off new ideas like touchtone dialing, call waiting and call forwarding, features that later would become the norm a decade later. One third-grader interviewed by a Seattle Times reporter predicted that we’d have telephones in our pockets. No, his name wasn’t Steve Jobs. The house of the future showed off a home computer that would be able to balance the checking account and order groceries from the supermarket.

In the kitchen, families could look forward to heat and serve foods, thanks to the miracles of freeze-drying and irradiation. Food could be boiled in a bag in just minutes (exhibitors missed out on the idea of the microwave) and every member of the family could have their favorite for dinner.

In the library of the future, vast collections would be stored in “information retrieval machines” and facsimile machines would allow documents to be sent over phone lines to other branches or even to a cardholder’s home in a matter of minutes.

The president of Bell Telephone Company, W.W. Straley, seemed to have mystic powers. He predicted the population of the nine counties that made up the Puget Sound region would be 4,320,000 in the 21st Century. In 2018, the population stands at 4,369,625.

“Our present towns,” he said, “will become a continuous metropolitan area. People will not know when they leave one town and enter another.”

A major success and a lasting impression

By almost every measure, the Century 21 Exposition exceeded expectations. It was one of only two world fairs that made money. Between April 21 and Oct. 21, 1962, nearly 10 million visitors passed through the gates. Even Elvis Presley showed up, filming It Happened At the World’s Fair with seven-year-old  Vicky Tiu Liu, who went on to become the First Lady of Hawaii. Other famous visitors included Sammy Davis Jr., Lawrence Welk, John Wayne, Vice President Lyndon Johnson, Walt Disney, George Burns and astronaut John Glenn. Even Lassie found time to visit the fair.

After the exposition closed, the city turned the fairgrounds into a city park, the Seattle Center. Visitors to the park today can still see remnants of the fair, including the iconic Space Needle, Key Arena, which was the Washington State Pavilion during Century 21, the Science Center, which served as the United States Science Exhibit, and the venerable Monorail, which still connects the downtown core with the Seattle Center.

Perhaps more important, the world’s fair put Seattle and Washington State on the map. No longer a remote outpost, the region became an economic juggernaut and center for international trade. It helped spawn fresh ideas, new innovations and bold companies that have gone on to change the world. This was something no one in 1962 could predict, the future of one of the world’s most beautiful diverse and eclectic metropolitan cities.

Share
Translate »