距離東部連綿起伏的丘陵的華盛頓東部的釀酒廠和葡萄園。

大量的機遇。

Washington的15萬英畝農田 300種不同的農作物,在全國排名第二。 該州多樣化的地理環境與以海洋為燃料的小氣候相結合,創造了無窮無盡的生長地區,從該州西側潮濕的山坡和山谷到華盛頓東部肥沃的起伏平原。

農場和食品生產設施戰略性地位於冷藏設施,港口,鐵路線和主要運輸走廊附近。 這有助於確保將新鮮,冷凍和加工食品有效地運輸到整個北美,中美洲和南美洲,亞洲和歐洲的主要市場。 與其他西海岸港口運營商相比,該州幾個大型集裝箱港口距亞洲主要港口只有一天的路程。

結合該州的低成本能源(全美最低的能源)以及高產的農作物和收成,華盛頓成為農業運營,食品生產,存儲和製造的自然選擇。

行業快照。

  • 35,700個農場,其中89%被歸類為年收入低於250,000萬美元的小型農場。
  • 農業和食品製造業務為華盛頓提供了164,000個工作崗位。
  • 該行業每年創造超過20.4億美元的收入。
  • 華盛頓是蘋果,藍莓,啤酒花,梨,留蘭香油和甜櫻桃的第一大生產國。
  • 該州是美國杏,蘆筍,葡萄,土豆和覆盆子的第二大生產國
  • 華盛頓是美國第二大葡萄酒生產國,為1,000個釀酒廠提供支持。
  • 華盛頓還是海產品生產的領導者,在魚類和貝類運輸方面僅次於阿拉斯加。

深入了解。

華盛頓州豐富的火山土壤,多樣化的生長氣候和大規模的灌溉網絡為農民和食品製造商提供了全年最佳的生長條件。 西華盛頓涼爽的山谷適合漿果,花卉,家禽,苗圃產品和奶牛。 東華盛頓州氣候溫暖乾燥,是奶牛場,牧場,小麥,水果,蔬菜和釀酒葡萄的理想之選。 蘋果,土豆和旱地小麥等商品的每英畝單產以及每牛奶的產量都充分證明了華盛頓在美國農業和糧食生產方面的領導地位。

華盛頓州與歐洲和亞洲等距,由75個公共港口,139個機場和3,666英里的鐵路相連,確保您的農作物以及食品和飲料產品快速有序地到達目的地。 華盛頓還擁有西海岸最大的港口側冷藏庫。 該州是美國最精通貿易的州之一,在美國排名第5。

頂級農作物

蘋果 - 的美元1.95億元
– 1.5億美元
土豆 – 934萬美元
小麥 – 792.5萬美元
– 698.7萬美元
酒花 – 475.6萬美元
那裡 – 468萬美元
櫻桃 – 393.5萬美元
葡萄 – 308萬美元
– 180.5萬美元

華盛頓約有三分之一的農產品出口到國外,其中75%出口到亞洲市場。 食品製造業是一個價值12億美元的產業,是該州的第二大製造業。

為了促進增值農業和食品製造產品的生產和貿易,國家提供了一系列 獎勵 希望與華盛頓開展業務的公司,包括免稅和對新鮮水果和蔬菜作物製造商的減免。 國家還提供了一種稅收制度,獎勵成功的企業,使他們保留更多的利潤。

州立大學和私營企業共同研究新產品,生長和生產技術以及可持續性。 華盛頓州立大學的葡萄酒科學中心就是這種合作的一個很好的例子。 這是世界上技術最先進的研究和教育設施之一,佔地40,000平方英尺,包括研究和教學實驗室,教室和可運營的釀酒廠,以改善葡萄種植和釀酒過程。

需要幫助時伸出援助之手。

從事該行業的公司可以依靠國家和整個行業的支持。 華盛頓擁有強大的貿易協會網絡,包括21個農業商品委員會(在右側列出), 西北食品加工商協會西北園藝委員會太平洋海鮮加工商協會西北太平洋蔬菜協會 和 華盛頓州農業部.

如果出現問題...

為了幫助您最大程度地發揮農業和食品製造業務戰略的潛力,我們擁有一支專家團隊來指導您在我們的其中一個工廠中查找設施 39縣,通過許可,確保熟練的勞動力,培訓新老員工,進入貿易或將您的出口擴大到新市場,進行研究以及向可能有興趣與您合作的地方,區域和州範圍內的企業進行介紹的方式進行工作。

如果您想了解有關華盛頓州增值農業和食品製造機會的更多信息,請致電206.256.6100與我們聯繫,或者給下面列出的我們的農業/食品製造業務專家發送電子郵件。

 

埃文·溫德蘭特,增值農業發展經理,業務發展團隊–電話:(206)256-6142

需要幫助?

我們的業務專家將為您服務!

A winery and vineyard in Eastern Washington with rolling hills in the distance.

A bumper crop of opportunity.

Washington’s 15 million acres of farmland produce 300 different crops, ranking second in the nation. The state’s diverse geography combines with ocean-fueled microclimates to create an endless variety of growing regions, from the moist hillsides and valleys on the west side of the state to the fertile, rolling plains of Eastern Washington.

Farms and food production facilities are strategically located near cold storage facilities, ports, rail lines and major transportation corridors. This helps ensure that fresh, frozen and manufactured foods can be transported efficiently to major markets throughout North, Central and South America, Asia and Europe. Several of the state’s large container ports are a day’s sail closer to major Asian ports than other West Coast port operations.

Combined with the state’s low-cost energy – some of the lowest in the nation – and superior crop and harvest yields, Washington is a natural choice for agricultural operations, food production, storage and manufacturing.

Industry snapshot.

  • 35,700 farms, 89% of which are classified as small farms with less than $250,000 in annual revenue.
  • Agriculture and food manufacturing operations support 164,000 jobs in Washington.
  • The industry generates more than $20.4 billion in revenue annually.
  • Washington is the #1 producer of apples, blueberries, hops, pears, spearmint oil and sweet cherries.
  • The state is the #2 producer of apricots, asparagus, grapes, potatoes and raspberries in the U.S.
  • Washington is the second-largest producer of wine in the United States, supporting 1,000 wineries.
  • Washington is also a leader in seafood production, second only to Alaska in shipments of fish and shellfish.

An in-depth look.

Washington’s rich volcanic soils, diverse growing climates and large-scale irrigation networks provide farmers and food manufacturers with optimal growing conditions year-round. The cool valleys of Western Washington are suitable for berries, flowers, poultry, nursery products and dairy cows. With its warmer, drier climate, Eastern Washington is ideal for dairy farms, cattle ranching, wheat, fruits, vegetables and wine grapes. Per acre yields for commodities such as apples, potatoes and dryland wheat as well per cow milk production provides ample evidence of Washington’s leadership in U.S. agriculture and food production.

Washington State is equidistant from Europe and Asia, connected by 75 public ports, 139 airports and 3,666 miles of railways, ensuring that your crops and food and beverage products arrive at their destination quickly and in good order. Washington also has the largest port-side cold storage facility on the west coast. The state is one of the most trade savvy states in the nation, ranking #5 in the U.S.

Top Crops

Apples – $1.95 billion
Milk – $1.5 billion
Potatoes – $934 million
Wheat – $792.5 million
Cattle – $698.7 million
Hops – $475.6 million
Hay – $468 million
Cherries – $393.5 million
Grapes – $308 million
Onions – $180.5 million

About one-third of Washington’s agricultural commodities are exported, 75% going to Asia markets. Food manufacturing is a $12 billion industry and is the state’s second-largest manufacturing industry.

To promote the production and trade of value-added agriculture and food manufacturing products, the state offers an array of incentives to companies who wish to do business in and with Washington, including tax exemptions and deductions for manufacturers of fresh fruit and vegetable crops. The state also offers a tax system that rewards successful businesses, allowing them to retain more of their profits.

State universities and private enterprises work together to research new products, growing and production techniques, and sustainability. A good example of this collaboration is the Wine Science Center at Washington State University. One of the most technologically advanced research and education facilities in the world, the 40,000 square-foot facility includes research and teaching laboratories, classrooms and an operational winery to improve grape growing and winemaking processes.

A helping hand when you need one.

Companies engaged in the industry can count on the support of the state and the industry at large. Washington has a robust network of trade associations, including 21 agriculture commodity commissions (listed on the right), Northwest Food Processors AssociationNorthwest Horticultural CouncilPacific Seafood Processors AssociationPacific Northwest Vegetable Association and the Washington State Department of Agriculture.

If a question crops up…

To help you maximize the potential of your agricultural and food manufacturing business strategies, we have a team of experts on hand to guide you in locating facilities in one of our 39 counties, working your way through permitting, securing a skilled workforce, training new and existing workers, entering into trade or expanding your exports to new markets, performing research and making introductions with local, regional and statewide businesses who may be interested in partnering with you.

If you are interested in learning more about value-added agriculture and food manufacturing opportunities in Washington State, contact us at 206.256.6100 or email our agriculture/food manufacturing business expert listed below.

 

Evan Wendlandt, Value-Added Agriculture Development Manager, Business Development Team – Phone: (206) 256-6142

Need Assistance?

Our business experts are standing by!