堆疊一堆華盛頓木材,等待運送到工廠。

管理與可持續發展 成長 業。

F大約200年來,林業在華盛頓的經濟中發揮了核心作用。 早期,覆蓋該州的原始森林幫助推動了西部擴張,並將小型伐木營地變成了繁榮的社區。 今天,林產品業已成為華盛頓的第三大製造業,為有遠見的公司和投資者創造了就業機會。

在一個可持續發展和管理與產量同等重要的時代,從20世紀初開始,為伐木工人和鋸木廠工人開發創新的工人補償計劃,到創造可再生能源,國家一直在引領行業重塑。世界上第一個林場,將樹木視為一種農作物,而不是有限的自然資源。

儘管這些年來面臨許多挑戰,但該行業的創新,現代化和多樣化能力提供了充分的證據,證明這一對華盛頓經濟的重要貢獻者將繼續在後代中發揮重要作用。

瀏覽 木材3 在全屏地圖中

行業快照

  • 華盛頓擁有22萬英畝的林地。 其中約有四百萬是私人擁有的。
  • 該州砍伐的木材有70%來自這些私人森林。
  • 華盛頓是美國第二大木材生產國。
  • 林產品部門支持約42,000名工人。
  • 華盛頓州有1,700多家林產品企業。
  • 部門業務的總業務收入為每年28萬美元。
  • 交叉層壓木材是該行業增長最快的部分之一。

深入了解。

華盛頓州的林產品部門涵蓋了廣泛的業務領域,從傳統的伐木和木材生產到木屑,鋸末,木地板,木瓦,瓷磚,木製品,層壓木皮和圍欄。 該行業還包括紙漿和紙張以及門,窗框和樓梯等增值產品,為公司提供了廣泛的擴展和增長機會。

華盛頓約有一半森林。 在該州的西部,被認為是最佳收成年齡的樹木中,有75%的樹木不到一個世紀,而一半的樹木不到40年。

每年的樹木採伐量約為2.7億板英尺。 其中約85%來自華盛頓西部的森林。 花旗松和鐵杉是全州收穫的兩個最常見的物種,佔總產量的75%。 其餘的25%來自混合針葉樹,美國黃松,其他混合松樹,闊葉樹和雪松。

平衡生產與可持續發展之間的關係,華盛頓的1,700多家林產品企業僱用了大約42,000名工人,每年賺取近3億美元的工資。 林業相關工作中有10%以上是“綠色”工作,而該州整體勞動力中約3%是“綠色”工作。 每年的總營業收入約為28億美元。

隨著增長戰略和木材管理實踐的進步,預計未來幾年每英畝單產將繼續攀升,以確保該行業穩定的林產品供應。

對於華盛頓州的木材行業來說,交叉層壓木材(CLT)是一個快速增長的機遇。 該州已開設了兩個新的生產設施,以應對這種革命性的新型CLT的當前需求和預期需求,與其他建築材料相比,該產品生產所需的能源更少,同時具有顯著的阻燃性並降低了環境中的CO2含量。

隨著對流程進行現代化和優化以在整個華盛頓州的社區中更廣泛地使用該流程,將生物質用於鋸木和造紙廠的古老使用正在產生溢出效應。 新企業和新創新繼續為整棵樹找到新用途,從木材加工到生物燃料。

華盛頓大學和華盛頓州立大學繼續進行有關如何使用林產品為國家交通網絡提供動力的研究。 這項前沿研究引起了國防部,波音和阿拉斯加航空公司的關注,後者已經使用這種新一代的森林驅動燃料進行了試飛。

生物質利用將在該州的綠色經濟目標中發揮至關重要的作用。 它不僅有望作為燃料和發電材料,而且從林地中清除這種生物質能減少可能嚴重影響農作物的火災,蟲害和疾病的風險。

研究人員也在尋找新的方法來改善樹木種子,使其具有更高的產量和更強的韌性。 這項樹木改良計劃為家庭林主提供了高質量,基因適合的苗木。 除了該州經濟上最重要的樹種花旗松外,該計劃還建立了西落葉松,黑松和黃鬆的種子園。

我們比其他人差強人意!

無論您打算使用新的木製家具產品線佔領世界,還是投資於下一代CLT產品,華盛頓州都是理想的選擇。

我們的創造力文化,負責任的管理傳統與行業的持續發展相平衡,令人驚嘆的老式木材和豐富的生物多樣性,為您提供了絕佳的增長,擴張和投資機會。

要了解有關我們林產品部門的更多信息,請致電(206)256-6100,或使用下面的電子郵件聯繫我們。 我們很樂意回答您的問題,並幫助您的企業在華盛頓取得成功。

 

布賴恩·哈特菲爾德,林產品部門負責人和農村經濟發展顧問–電話:(360)819-2936

需要幫助?

我們的業務專家將為您服務!

A stack of Washington timber is stacked, awaiting delivery to the mill.

Stewardship and sustainability in a growing industry.

For almost 200 years, the forest industry has played a central role in Washington’s economy. In the early days, the virgin forests that covered the state helped fuel Western expansion and turned small logging camps into flourishing communities. Today, the forest products sector is the third-largest manufacturing industry in Washington, creating jobs and opportunities for visionary companies and investors alike.

In an age where sustainability and stewardship are as crucial as yield, the state has led the way in reinventing the industry for more than a century – from developing innovative worker’s compensation programs for loggers and sawmill workers at the turn of the 20th century to creating the world’s first tree farms, treating trees as an agricultural crop instead of a finite natural resource.

Despite many challenges faced over the years, the industry’s ability to innovate, modernize and diversify provides adequate proof that this vital contributor to Washington’s economy will continue to play a significant role for generations to come.

View Lumber 3 in a full screen map

Industry Snapshot

  • Washington has 22 million acres of forestland. About four million of that is privately owned.
  • 70% of the timber harvested in the state comes from these private forests.
  • Washington is the second-largest producer of lumber in the United States.
  • The forest products sector supports a workforce of approximately 42,000 workers.
  • There are 1,700+ forest product businesses in Washington State.
  • Gross business income for sector businesses is $28 million annually.
  • Cross-laminated timber is one of the fastest-growing segments of the industry.

An in-depth look.

Washington State’s forest products sector covers a broad range of business lines, from traditional cutting and lumber production to chips, sawdust, wood flooring, shingles, tiles, millwork, laminated veneer and fencing. The industry also encompasses pulp and paper and value-added products such as doors, window frames, and stairs, offering companies a wide range of expansion and growth opportunities.

About half of Washington is forested. In the Western part of the state, 75% of the trees are less than a century old, and about half are less than 40 years old, considered the optimal harvest age.

The annual harvest of trees is about 2.7 billion board feet. Approximately 85% of that is harvested from Western Washington forests. Douglas fir and Western hemlock are the two most common species harvested statewide, accounting for 75% of total production. The remaining 25% of the total harvest comes from mixed conifers, Ponderosa pine, other mixed pines, hardwood species and cedars.

Balancing production with sustainability, Washington’s 1,700+ forest products businesses employ some 42,000 workers, earning nearly $3 billion in wages annually. More than 10% of forestry-related jobs are “green” compared to about 3% for the state’s workforce as a whole. Gross business income is approximately $28 billion annually.

With advances in growth strategies and timber management practices, per acre yields are predicted to continue to climb in the years to come, ensuring a steady supply of forest products for the industry.

Cross-laminated timber (CLT) is a rapidly growing opportunity for the lumber industry in Washington State. Two new production facilities have opened in the state to handle current and anticipated demand for this revolutionary new CLT, which requires less energy to produce than other building materials while offering substantial fire retardation and reduced CO2 levels for the environment.

The age-old use of biomass to power saw and paper mills is having a spillover effect as processes are modernized and optimized for use on a broader scale in communities throughout Washington. New enterprises and new innovations continue to find new uses for the entire tree, from milled lumber to biofuels.

The University of Washington and Washington State University continue to perform research on how forest products can be used to power the nation’s transportation network. This cutting-edge research has drawn interest from the Department of Defense, Boeing and Alaska Airlines, which has conducted test flights using this new generation of forest-driven fuels.

Biomass utilization will play an essential role in the state’s green economy goals. Not only does it hold promise as a fuel and power generation material, but the removal of this biomass from forest lands reduces the risk of fires, pests and diseases that can seriously affect the crop.

Researchers are also looking at new ways to improve tree seed to have a higher yield and is more resilient. This tree improvement program provides high-quality, genetically appropriate seedlings to family forest owners. In addition to Douglas fir, which is the state’s most economically important species, this program has also established seed orchards for western larch, lodgepole pine and ponderosa pine.

We’re a cut above the others!

Whether you’re planning to take the world by storm with a new line of wood furnishings or investing in next-generation CLT products, Washington State is the ideal choice.

Our culture of creativity, a legacy of responsible stewardship balanced by continued industry growth, a stunning landscape of old-growth timbers and rich biodiversity, offers you excellent opportunities for growth, expansion and investment.

To learn more about our forest products sector, give us a call at (206) 256-6100 or use the email contact below. We’ll be happy to answer your questions and help your business achieve success in Washington.

 

Brian Hatfield, Forest Products Sector Lead & Rural Economic Development Advisor – Phone: (360) 819-2936

Need Assistance?

Our business experts are standing by!

Translate »