掌握數字世界。

W ashington州作為全球信息和通信技術(ICT)中心的聲譽是當之無愧的。 它是微軟,亞馬遜,F5 Networks,Zillow和Expedia等傳奇企業的發源地,並為無數工程推動者和顛覆者提供了工程辦公室,包括Facebook,Google,Twitter,Apple,Salesforce,BestBuy,阿里巴巴和eBay。

總的來說,華盛頓州有超過14,000家ICT公司,從業內知名人士到致力於下一個大業務的小型初創公司。 全州有超過313,000人從事與技術相關的工作,其中包括遊戲開發人員,程序員和軟件工程師。 我們的企業家精神,協作文化以及在移動,遊戲,量子計算,區塊鏈,增強/虛擬現實,人工智能和雲計算。

ICT領域以及航空,生命科學,先進製造,清潔技術和航海等其他部門之間迅速共享新思想,它們依靠軟件和硬件來推動創新和利潤。 激進的解決古老問題的方法正在推動全面發展,重新定義整個市場,有時甚至成為文化的標誌。

行業快照

 

  • 在過去的十年中,華盛頓的科技行業就業人數增長了近10%。
  • 科技工作者佔該州總勞動力的10.7%。
  • 在新技術職位的淨比例中,該州名列全國前列,去年增長了7.6%。
  • 該行業的收入為103.5億美元,僅佔該州經濟的20%以上,在美國所佔比例最高
  • 全州有超過313,000名工人從事與技術相關的工作。
  • 華盛頓州總工資的8%與技術部門有關。
  • 該州出口的所有服務中,有57%與技術相關,幾乎是第二名馬薩諸塞州的兩倍。

深入了解。

與美國其他技術中心相比,華盛頓州具有巨大的價值。 該州擁有豐富的頂級人才,並且根據稅收,生活成本,就業和工作環境,一直被列為最佳謀生之地。 隨著工作人員轉向“無處不在的工作”模式,他們正在尋找負擔得起的,安全的,但又靠近城市中心和連通性的古樸社區。 華盛頓為他們提供了無數的選擇,從被自然奇觀環繞的鄉村飛地到海濱社區,距西雅圖繁華的大都市僅一箭之遙。

華盛頓在ICT空間中的創新和發明生態系統由風險資本家,天使,孵化器和工作區提供,以支持快速原型設計和增長。 該領域還得到了幾所世界一流研究型大學和國家實驗室的支持-美國僅有的10所實驗室之一。 在主要的創新中心裡,從創始人的前雇主那條街對開找到大膽的新創業公司並不少見。 文化,協作,創造力和創新的獨特融合使行業保持新鮮和不斷變化。

州的新5G開放創新實驗室就是一個很好的例子,該實驗室匯集了開發人員,商業遠見者,學術界和政府機構,以推動這一相對較新的領域的發展。 創新合作區 (IPZ)。 5G實驗室正在與農業領域的領導者合作,創建一個具有專用5G接入權限的現場實驗室,以提高行業的彈性並最大程度地減少對消費者和區域性農業綜合企業的未來供應鏈中斷。

得益於其悠久的國際貿易歷史,華盛頓是美國技術產品和服務的第一大出口國,幾乎所有服務出口中的1%與技術相關,是馬薩諸塞州和俄勒岡州的兩倍,分別在第二和第三位。信息技術工業理事會的最新報告。

該州主要的技術出口產品之一是遊戲。 華盛頓的遊戲行業有超過23,000名員工,為Valve,PopCap,Big Fish,Microsoft和Nintendo等公司工作。 這些公司加在一起佔據了世界直接博彩收入的近五分之一。 加上我們對傳統遊戲的熱情,這些傳統遊戲如Magic,Pictionary和Cranium席捲了整個世界,您會明白為什麼華盛頓在遊戲中如此占主導地位。

為了確保穩定提供頂級人才,企業界與教育工作者緊密合作,使課程設置與新興行業的需求保持一致。 這種合作關係的一個很好的例子是新的比爾和梅林達·蓋茨計算機科學與工程中心,該中心毗鄰保羅·艾倫計算機科學與工程學院。 蓋茨中心將華盛頓大學的年度學位產量提高了一倍,並設有一個先進的製造商空間,機器人實驗室,計算機動畫頂樓工作室和一個濕潤實驗室,用於分子信息系統的前沿研究。

作為在華盛頓開展業務的ICT公司,您將成為出色的公司。 該州是雲計算,大數據,區塊鍊和人工智能領域的領先經濟體。 無論您是致力於重塑在線娛樂的一人創業公司,還是想要利用我們享譽全球的人才庫和協作文化的海外大型公司,新移民都有足夠的空間。

與我們的一位ICT專家聯繫。

該州的企業在一隻手握住手機,另一隻手握住拿鐵的過程中發揮了作用,迎來了個人計算時代,並重新定義了去“商店”的含義。

如果您正在尋找一種動態的,可以辦得到的創造力文化,頂尖人才可以介入其中,並提供重新定義世界的出色產品和服務,華盛頓正在等待您。 無論您是一個致力於重塑在線娛樂的單人創業公司,還是想在美國擴張或投資的跨國公司,華盛頓州商務部的業務專家都將為您提供幫助。 我們很樂意幫助您採取下一步措施,回答所有問題,並藉給我們我們的專業知識,以便您獲得競爭優勢。

致電(206)256-6100或給我們的一位業務專家發送電子郵件,以了解有關我們蓬勃發展的信息和通信技術領域的更多信息,以及華盛頓如何在尋找創新解決方案的方式上引領未來的挑戰。

 

ICT部門團隊

史蒂芬·馬赫什瓦里(Steven Maheshwary),信息與通信技術經濟發展總監–電話:(206)256-6118

埃文·溫德蘭特,ICT業務開發經理,業務開發團隊–電話:(206)256-6142

朱莉·莫娜漢(Julie Monahan)出口援助團隊ICT開發經理,電話:(206)256-6147

需要幫助?

我們的業務專家將為您服務!

Mastering the digital world.

W ashington State’s reputation as a global hub for information and communication technology (ICT) is well deserved. It is the birthplace of such legendary businesses as Microsoft, Amazon, F5 Networks, Zillow and Expedia and home to countless engineering offices for industry movers and shakers, including Facebook, Google, Twitter, Apple, Salesforce, BestBuy, Alibaba and eBay.

All told, there are more than 14,000 ICT companies in Washington State, from the industry’s biggest names to small startups working on the next big thing. More than 313,000 people are employed in technology-related jobs statewide, including game developers, programmers and software engineers. Talent from around the world is drawn here by our entrepreneurial spirit, culture of collaboration and the chance to be on the ground floor of bleeding-edge innovation and experimentation in mobile, gaming, quantum computing, blockchain, augmented/virtual reality, artificial intelligence and cloud computing.

New ideas are shared rapidly within the ICT sector and across other sectors such as aerospace, life science, advanced manufacturing, clean tech, and maritime, which rely on software and hardware to drive innovation and profits. Radical approaches to age-old problems are spurring advances across the board that redefine entire markets and, on occasion, become cultural icons.

Industry Snapshot

 

  • Over the last 10 years, Washington’s tech sector employment has grown by nearly 34%.
  • Tech workers make up 10.7% of the state’s total workforce.
  • The state leads the nation in the net percentage of new tech positions, with a gain of 7.6% last year.
  • At $103.5 billion, the sector accounts for just over 20% of the state’s economy, the highest percentage in the U.S.
  • More than 313,000 workers are employed in tech-related jobs statewide.
  • 8% of total wages in Washington are tied to the technology sector.
  • 57% of all services exported by the state are technology-related, nearly double second-place Massachusetts.

An in-depth look.

Compared to other technology centers in the U.S., Washington State offers tremendous value. The state is rich in top-tier talent and is consistently ranked at the top of best places to make a living based on taxes, cost of living, employment and workplace environment. As workers shift to a “work from anywhere” model, they are searching for quaint communities that are affordable and safe, yet close to urban centers and connectivity. Washington offers them countless choices, from rural enclaves surrounded by natural wonders to waterfront communities a stone’s throw from Seattle’s bustling metropolis.

Washington’s ecosystem of innovation and invention in the ICT space is fed by venture capitalists, angels, incubators and workspaces to support rapid prototyping and growth. The sector is also supported by several world-class research universities and a national laboratory – one of only 10 in the United States. It’s not uncommon in major innovation hubs to find bold new startups opening right across the street from the founder’s former employer. This unique blend of culture, collaboration, creativity and innovation keeps the industry fresh and ever-changing.

An excellent example of this is the state’s new 5G Open Innovation Lab, which brings together developers, business visionaries, academia and government agencies to advance this relatively new Innovation Partnership Zone (IPZ).  The 5G Lab is working with leaders in the agriculture sector to create a field lab with dedicated 5G access to improve the industry’s resiliency and minimize future supply chain disruptions for consumers and regional agribusinesses.

Thanks to its long history of international trade, Washington is the #1 exporter of technology products and services in the U.S. Nearly 60% of all services exported are technology-related, twice as much as Massachusetts and Oregon, which rank second and third in a recent Information Technology Industry Council report.

One of the state’s major tech exports is gaming. More than 23,000 people work in the game industry in Washington, working for such stalwarts as Valve, PopCap, Big Fish, Microsoft and Nintendo. Together, these companies command almost a fifth of the world’s direct gaming revenue. Add in our historical passion for traditional games that have taken the world by storm such as Magic, Pictionary and Cranium, and you can see why Washington is such a dominant force in gaming.

To ensure a steady supply of top-tier talent, the business community works closely with educators to align curriculum with emerging industry needs. An excellent example of this level of partnership is the new Bill & Melinda Gates Center for Computer Science & Engineering, which is adjacent to the Paul G. Allen School of Computer Science & Engineering. The Gates Center doubles the annual degree production for the University of Washington and houses a sophisticated maker space, robotics lab, computer animation capstone workrooms and a wet lab for leading-edge research in molecular information systems.

As an ICT company doing business in Washington, you’ll be in outstanding company. The state is the leading economy in cloud computing, big data, blockchain and AI. There’s plenty of room for newcomers, whether you’re a one-person startup bent on reinventing online entertainment or a large firm overseas that wants to tap into our world-renowned talent pool and culture of collaboration.

Connect with one of our ICT experts.

Businesses in the state have been instrumental in putting a cellphone in one hand and latte in the other, ushered in the age of personal computing, and redefined what it means to go to the “store.”

If you’re looking for a dynamic, can-do culture of creativity where top talent can step right in and turn out amazing products and services that redefine the world, Washington is waiting for you. Whether you’re a one-person startup bent on reinventing online entertainment or a multinational firm that wants to expand or invest in the U.S., our business experts in Washington State’s Department of Commerce are here to help. We’ll be happy to help you take the next steps, answer all your questions and lend you our expertise so you can gain the competitive edge.

Call us at (206) 256-6100 or email one of our business experts below to learn more about our thriving information and communication technology sector and how Washington is leading the way in finding innovative solutions to tomorrow’s challenges.

 

ICT Sector Team

Steven Maheshwary, Director of Economic Development, Information & Communication Technology – Phone: (206) 256-6118

Evan Wendlandt, ICT Business Development Manager, Business Development Team – Phone: (206) 256-6142

Julie Monahan, ICT Development Manager, Export Assistance Team – Phone: (206) 256-6147

Need Assistance?

Our business experts are standing by!