一排漁船綁在漁民碼頭

在世界範圍內掀起波瀾。

W 3,200英里的海岸線,50,000英里的河流和溪流以及直接通往太平洋的航海業已經塑造了華盛頓州數百年。 海事部門支持廣泛的行業,包括海事物流和航運,商業捕魚和海鮮生產,船舶和造船,維修和保養,客運和休閒划船。

成千上萬的公司受益於該州深厚的海事人才庫,從熟練的商人和手工業者到迎接新的海事機會時代的技術人員和技術人員。 這些公司正在利用華盛頓在技術,先進材料和清潔能源方面的領導者的全球聲譽,來設計新一代的船舶,這些船舶在最惡劣的環境中操作時效率更高,更快,更清潔,利潤更高。

該行業具有豐富的海事遺產,因此具有多種多樣的優勢。 多代造船者與許多新奇的人一起探索深海勘探工具和自主航行器。 娛樂船隻的電動推進是企業家和初創企業正在探索的另一個機會。 對於那些需要按照自己的節奏進行操作的人來說,普吉特海灣,薩利甚海和太平洋是理想的試驗場。

行業快照

  • 華盛頓海事部門包括2,300家公司,僱用69,500多名工人。
  • 該行業每年產生超過21.4億美元的收入和4.7億美元的工資。
  • 華盛頓2%的工作與海事有關,另有3.8%的勞動力為該行業提供支持。
  • 該行業的歷史年增長率為3%至6%。
  • 西北海港聯盟(Northwest Seaport Alliance)是北美第四大集裝箱門戶,處理了大約75億美元的水上貿易。
  • 華盛頓有近700個漁業和海鮮生產基地,該州是孵化場養殖和養殖貝類的最大生產國。
  • 該州是全美國人均乘船量最高的國家,有250,000萬多艘船隻在華盛頓的水道上穿梭,為商務和休閒增光添彩。
  • 在美國的117個造船廠中,近四分之一位於華盛頓州。
  • 該州正在通過其國家發展全國最可持續的海洋產業 海藍戰略專注於深度脫碳,創新和勞動力發展。

深入了解。

華盛頓的海事部門分為六個主要業務領域,創建了一個多元化而又協同的生態系統。

  • 海上物流與運輸: 包括長途,越洋和內河貨運以及相關的計劃,路線和倉儲。 此部分還包括傳感器,導航系統以及其他有助於安全/有效地進行貨物/貨運運輸操作的系統和儀器。
  • 商業捕魚和海鮮產品: 涵蓋海產品生產的整個價值鏈,從與魚類和貝類有關的捕魚和水產養殖到海產品包裝和海產品市場運營。
  • 船舶和造船,維修與保養: 包括建造海軍和民用貨船,駁船,潛艇,客船和鑽井平台; 還包括船舶的干塢,維修和修理。
  • 客運水上運輸: 包括當地客運水運(例如,沿海地區,港口,河流和湖泊中的渡輪)和遊輪運營。
  • 休閒划船: 包括觀光巡航,包租漁船服務和飛艇。 它還包括碼頭的運營,為此類船隻和划船活動提供存儲,加油,維護和租賃服務
  • 支持服務和海洋技術: 加油業務,船舶電子,製冷和齒輪製造商,研發,耗材,海軍建築師等專業服務。 包括環境服務,海軍科學技術和能源相關活動。

隨著操作員尋求更高效的船舶,並利用流體力學,複合材料,電子,軟件和推進技術的進步,新一代船舶即將出現。 延繩釣船F / V Blue North是一個很好的例子,該船由Dakota Creek Industries在華盛頓州的Anacortes建造。 該船是此類首批捕撈船之一,符合III級排放標準,可將非目標物種放回野外。

新的自動潛水器也正在進行工作,這些潛水器可以在水下進行維護,可以將混合燃料從傳統燃料無縫轉換為電力的混合動力發動機,可以在海上對船舶系統進行陸上監控,還可以使用AI輔助技術來發現步履蹣跚的設備並進行維修。它會導致問題或更嚴重的災難。 大數據正在被用來引導船舶進入更有效的航線,對船體進行整形,以便它們在降低噪音的同時更有效地穿透水域,並安排港口的進港和離港時間,以最大限度地縮短停泊時間。

為了推進該州大膽的倡議,以在2045年之前大幅減少其碳足跡,交通運輸部已下令在艦隊中增加幾艘新的混合動力奧林匹克級渡輪中的第一艘。 綠色渡輪每年將減少146噸的一氧化氮排放量,並每年減少2噸的CO16,340排放量。 三艘Jumbo Mark II渡輪將從柴油動力轉換為混合動力動力,以補充新的建造。 這三艘渡輪減少的碳排放量相當於減少行駛中的10,000輛汽車。

作為推動海事領域創新戰略的一部分,華盛頓州商務部,WeWork Labs和西雅圖港已合作制定了一項海事加速器計劃,以支持將新想法推向市場和行業的公司。 為期四個月的計劃為他們提供了工作空間,研討會,講習班,並提供了可以幫助他們應對挑戰和消除障礙的導師和顧問的渠道。 該州和港口還建立了一個新的12,000平方英尺的海事創新中心,該中心將位於漁人碼頭的舊船舶供應大樓內。 該中心將於2023年開放,它將成為加速器計劃的永久所在地。

水深深地滲入我們的血管。

我們對航海傳統的承諾也延伸到了教育領域。 公私伙伴關係確保源源不斷的高學歷和訓練有素的工人不僅受過海洋科學教育,而且受過航空航天,軟件,硬件,電子學乃至納米技術的教育。

華盛頓大學通過其課程提供課程 海洋與環境事務學院 或 水產與漁業科學學院。 還有西雅圖中央學院的 西雅圖海事學院中, 海事技術與研究生學院/太平洋海事研究所。 “ 西北海洋製造和技術卓越中心 和 材料科學技術計劃 埃德蒙茲社區學院(Edmonds Community College)的大學提供證書和學位課程,以確保華盛頓的海運業保持強大實力,並掌握專有技術和按需貿易技能。

我們正在等你。

如果您要從事製造驚人產品或為海運業提供尖端服務的業務,請考慮華盛頓州。 我們為有遠見的企業提供大量與之合作的公司,學術合作夥伴關係,以確保持續不斷的高素質員工流,創新,協作的市場,其中最好,最聰明的主意迅速進入市場,並且生活質量不容小short天堂,適用於水手和陸路滑行者。

請致電(206)256-6100或給我們的一位業務專家發送電子郵件,以了解有關該州海事部門的更多信息,並與我們的一位業務專家談談在華盛頓州等待您的機會之潮。

 

海事部門

約書亞伯傑,海事部門經濟發展總監–電話:(206)256-6104

埃文·溫德蘭特,海事業務發展經理,業務發展團隊–電話:(206)256-6142

需要幫助?

我們的業務專家將為您服務!

A row of fishing boats tied up at Fishermen's Terminal

Making waves worldwide.

W ith 3,200 miles of shoreline, 50,000 miles of rivers and streams and direct access to the Pacific Ocean, the maritime industry has shaped Washington State for hundreds of years. The maritime sector supports a broad range of industries, including maritime logistics and shipping, commercial fishing and seafood production, ship and boat building, repair and maintenance, passenger transportation, and recreational boating.

Thousands of companies benefit from the state’s deep pool of maritime talent, from skilled tradespeople and craftsmen to technicians and technologists who are ushering in a new age of maritime opportunities. These companies are leveraging Washington’s global reputation as a leader in technology, advanced materials and clean energy to devise a new generation of vessels that are more efficient, faster, cleaner and more profitable to operate in the harshest of environments.

The industry is as diverse as it is rich in maritime heritage. Multigenerational boat builders are joined by up-and-comers exploring deep-sea exploration vehicles and autonomous craft. Electric propulsion for recreational watercraft is another opportunity being explored by entrepreneurs and startups. For those who need to put their ideas through their paces, the Puget Sound, the Salish Sea and the Pacific Ocean are the perfect testing grounds.

Industry Snapshot

  • Washington’s maritime sector encompasses 2,300 companies that employ 69,500+ workers.
  • The industry generates more than $21.4 billion in revenue and $4.7 billion in wages annually.
  • 2% of jobs in Washington are maritime-related and an additional 3.8% of the workforce supports the industry.
  • The historical annual growth rate for the sector has been 3% to 6%.
  • The Northwest Seaport Alliance is the fourth-largest container gateway in North America, handling approximately $75 billion in waterborne trade.
  • Nearly 700 fishing and seafood operations are located in Washington, and the state is the largest producer of hatchery-reared and farmed shellfish.
  • The state has the highest per capita boat usage in the nation – 250,000+ watercraft ply Washington’s waterways for business and pleasure.
  • Of the 117 shipyards in the U.S., nearly a quarter are located in Washington State.
  • The state is developing the most sustainable maritime industry in the nation through its Maritime Blue strategy, which is focused on deep de-carbonization, innovation and workforce development.

An in-depth look.

Washington’s maritime sector is divided into six main business lines, creating a diverse yet synergistic ecosystem.

  • Maritime Logistics & Shipping: Includes long-distance, transoceanic and river cargo shipping and related planning, routing and warehousing. This segment also includes sensors, navigation systems and other systems and instruments that contribute to safe and effective cargo/freight shipping operations.
  • Commercial Fishing & Seafood Products: Covers the full value chain of seafood production, from fishing and aquaculture related to finfish and shellfish to seafood packaging and seafood market operations.
  • Ship and Boat Building, Repair & Maintenance: Includes the building of naval and civilian cargo ships, barges, submarines, passenger ships and drilling platforms; also includes the dry docking, servicing and repair of vessels.
  • Passenger Water Transportation: Includes local passenger water transportation (e.g., ferries in coastal areas, harbors, rivers and lakes) and cruise ship operations.
  • Recreational Boating: Includes sightseeing cruising, charter fishing boat services and airboats. It also includes the operation of marinas that provide storage, fueling, maintenance and rental services for such boats and boating activities
  • Support Services & Marine Technology: Fueling operations, marine electronics, refrigeration and gear manufacturers, research and development, supplies, naval architects and other professional services. Includes environmental services, naval science and technology and energy-related activities.

A new generation of vessels is on the horizon as operators look to more efficient craft that take advantage of advances in hydrodynamics, composites, electronics, software and propulsion. A good example is the longline vessel F/V Blue North, built by Dakota Creek Industries in Anacortes, Washington. One of the first fishing vessels of its kind, the ship meets Tier III emission standards and allows non-targeted species to be released back into the wild.

Work is also underway on new autonomous submersibles that can conduct maintenance underwater, hybrid engines that can shift seamlessly from conventional fuels to electric, onshore monitoring of ship systems while they are at sea, and AI-assisted technologies to spot faltering equipment and repair it before it causes a problem, or worse, a catastrophe. Big data is being utilized to steer ships into more efficient routes, reshaping hulls so they cut through the water more efficiently while reducing noise, and scheduling port arrivals and departures to minimize time at anchor.

To advance the state’s bold initiative to significantly reduce its carbon footprint by 2045, the Department of Transportation has ordered the first of several new hybrid-electric Olympic Class ferries to be added to the fleet. The greener ferries will reduce nitric oxide emissions by 146 metric tons per year and CO2 emissions by 16,340 metric tons annually. Three Jumbo Mark II ferries will be converted from diesel to hybrid-electric propulsion to supplement the new construction. The reduction in carbon emissions for these three ferries will be the equivalent of removing 10,000 cars off the road.

As part of its strategy to drive innovation in the maritime sector, Washington’s Department of Commerce, WeWork Labs and the Port of Seattle have partnered to create a Maritime Accelerator program to support companies that are bringing new ideas to market and the industry. The four-month program offers them workspace, seminars, workshops and access to mentors and advisers who can help them navigate challenges and remove obstacles. The state and port have also partnered on a new 12,000 square foot Maritime Innovation Center which will be located in the old Ship Supply Building at Fishermen’s Terminal. When the center opens in 2023, it will become the permanent home of the accelerator program.

Water runs deep in our veins.

Our commitment to our maritime traditions extends into education as well. Public-private partnerships ensure a steady stream of highly educated and trained workers who are not only schooled in marine science but also aerospace, software, hardware, electronics and even nanotechnologies.

The University of Washington offers coursework through its School of Marine and Environmental Affairs and School of Aquatic & Fishery Sciences. There is also Seattle Central College’s Seattle Maritime Academy, the Maritime Institute of Technology and Graduate Studies/Pacific Maritime Institute. The Northwest Center of Excellence for Marine Manufacturing and Technology and the Materials Science Technology program at Edmonds Community College offer certificate and degree programs, ensuring that Washington’s maritime industry remains strong and rich in know-how and in-demand trade skills.

We’re waiting on the line for you.

If you’re in the business of building amazing products or offering cutting edge services to the maritime industry, consider Washington State. We offer visionary businesses a critical mass of companies to partner with, academic partnerships that ensure a continuous stream of highly qualified workers, an innovative, collaborative marketplace where the best and brightest ideas reach the market quickly, and a quality of life that is nothing short of paradise, for sailors and landlubbers alike.

Give us a call at (206) 256-6100 or email one of our business experts below to find out more about the state’s maritime sector and speak with one of our business experts about the waves of opportunity awaiting you in Washington State.

 

Maritime Sector Team

Joshua Berger, Director of Economic Development for the Maritime Sector – Phone: (206) 256-6104

Evan Wendlandt, Maritime Business Development Manager, Business Development Team – Phone: (206) 256-6142

Need Assistance?

Our business experts are standing by!