保护我们的自由。

鉴于华盛顿州在当今美国国防和全球维和行动中的战略重要性,第一批到达世界这一地区——甚至命名其许多海湾、水道和地貌——的欧洲探险家是士兵和水手也就不足为奇了。

数以万计的就业机会和数十亿美元从军事和国防部门流入该州的经济。 华盛顿有六个现役军事设施以及一个主要的国土安全设施、两个能源部设施和两所在其境内进行国防相关研究的世界一流大学。

华盛顿的现役军人人数在全美排名第 6,有 69,125 名军事人员,另有 90,246 名家属和 19,474 名预备役人员。 军事和国防部门雇佣了另外 39,000 名文职人员,大部分在刘易斯·麦科德联合基地 (JBLM) 和普吉特湾海军造船厂 (PSNS)。

华盛顿对美国的国防政策至关重要,原因有很多。 该州的深水港,战略位置的机场,靠近环太平洋地区的铁路和公路系统以及亲军平民,使各个分支机构都可以以极大的灵活性和协作性来满足其使命需求。

华盛顿确实是独一无二的。 JBLM是落基山脉以西最大的联合基地,也是美国陆军最需要的隔离工作地点。 该州拥有唯一一个在附近拥有飞机场,战略武器设施​​和造船厂的海军基地,而PSNS则是西海岸唯一能够处理尼米兹级航空母舰的干船坞。 华盛顿的海岸警卫队基地支持四个州的国土安全,并在整个太平洋进行460,000英里巡逻。

装置

联合基地刘易斯·麦考德
海军基地武装部队
海军航空站惠德比
海军航空站埃弗里特
飞兆空军基地
国民警卫队/营地默里
威斯康星大学国家应用物理实验室
DOE Hammer设施
美国能源部普吉特海湾国家实验室

亚基马综合大楼的86,000 + 324,000
11,400
66,605
5,111
4,511和500,000 SERE培训
295

对经济的影响

的美元6.1亿元
的美元6.1亿元
的美元5.92亿元
的美元4.75亿元
的美元4.61亿元
519 百万加元
67 百万加元

的美元1.2亿元

服务于军事和国防部门的企业将在华盛顿州找到大量机会,包括能源,生物燃料,ICT,网络安全,生命科学和航空航天/ UAS技术领域的机会。 大约有2,000家企业为军事和国防部门提供支持。 在过去的三年中,国有企业获得了近15亿美元的合同。 华盛顿已经有一些最大的军事承包商:波音,Insitu,Vigor Industries,Dakota Creek Industries,Microsoft,BP PLC,Manson Construction和The Geo Group。

该州未来的目标是在联邦政府进行战略性重组的需要之间取得平衡,同时重申华盛顿在实现这一愿景中的重要作用。 鉴于世界政治和军事力量的转移,在未来的几年中,西海岸的基地将变得更加重要。 确保军事和国防部门继续为我们的经济做出贡献是该州的目标。

有一个问题吗?

作为您在军事和国防领域的合作伙伴,商务部经济发展与竞争力办公室随时准备帮助您确定签约机会,寻找新的合作伙伴,确保您的员工拥有包括退伍军人在内的最新技能,并为您定位在华盛顿州的军事和国防部门取得成功。

请致电(206)256-6100与我们联系,我们将很乐意回答您的问题。

需要帮助?

我们的业务专家将为您服务!

Protecting our freedoms.

Given Washington State’s central role in the nation’s defense and global peacekeeping operations, it should come as no surprise that the first European explorers to reach this part of the world — and even name many of its bays, waterways and features — were soldiers and sailors.

Tens of thousands of jobs and billions of dollars flow into the state’s economy from the military and defense sector. Washington has six active duty military installations as well as a major homeland security installation, two Department of Energy facilities, and two world-class universities performing defense-related research within its borders.

Washington is 6th in the nation in the number of active duty military, with 69,125 military personnel and another 90,246 dependents and 19,474 reservists. The military and defense sector employs another 39,000 civilians, mostly at Joint Base Lewis McChord (JBLM) and Puget Sound Naval Shipyard (PSNS).

Washington is vital to U.S. defense policies for many reasons. The state’s deep water ports, strategically located airports, proximity to the Pacific Rim and integrated rail and road system, as well as a pro-military civilian population, allow the various branches to meet their mission needs with tremendous flexibility and collaboration.

Washington is indeed unique. JBLM is the largest joint base west of the Rockies and the most requested separation duty station in the U.S. Army. The state hosts the only Navy station that has an airfield, strategic weapons facility and shipyard in the same vicinity and PSNS has the only dry dock on the west coast capable of handling Nimitz-class aircraft carriers. Washington’s Coast Guard base supports homeland security in four states and patrols the entire Pacific Ocean – all 460,000 miles of it.

Installation

Joint Base Lewis McChord
Naval Base Kitsap
Naval Air Station Whidbey
Naval Air Station Everett
Fairchild Air Base
National Guard/Camp Murray
UW National Applied Physics Lab
DOE HaMMER Facility
DOE Puget Sound National Lab

Acres

86,000 + 324,000 at the Yakima Complex
11,400
66,605
5,111
4,511 & 500,000 SERE Training
295

Economic Impact

$6.1 billion
$6.1 billion
$5.92 billion
$4.75 billion
$4.61 billion
$519 million
$67 million

$1.2 billion

Businesses that serve the military and defense sector will find plenty of opportunities in Washington State, including those in energy, biofuels, ICT, cybersecurity, life sciences and aerospace/UAS technology. Approximately 2,000 businesses provide support to the military and defense sector. In the last three years, state businesses were awarded nearly $15 billion in contracts. Some of the largest military contractors are already located in Washington: Boeing, Insitu, Vigor Industries, Dakota Creek Industries, Microsoft, BP PLC, Manson Construction and The Geo Group.

The state’s goal going forward is to strike a balance between the federal government’s need to restructure strategically while reaffirming Washington’s important role in achieving that vision. Given the shift in world political and military might, west coast bases will become even more important in the years to come. It’s the state’s goal to ensure that the military and defense sector continues to contribute to our economy.

Got a question?

As your partner in the military and defense sector, the Department of Commerce’s Office of Economic Development & Competitiveness is ready to help you identify contracting opportunities, find new partners, ensure that your workforce has the latest skills, including military veterans, and position you for success in the military and defense sector in Washington State.

Kristiné Reeves, Director, Military & Defense Sector – (206) 256-6105

Need Assistance?

Our business experts are standing by!