“气候的宁静,无数令人愉悦的风景以及无助的大自然所带来的丰富的肥沃性,仅需通过拥有乡村,豪宅,平房和其他建筑物的男人的产业来丰富,使其成为最可爱的国家,可以想象。”

– 1792年乔治·温哥华船长

华盛顿经济简史。

O 可以通过在最早的欧洲移民到达之前很久就居住在这些土地上的土著人民之间一万多年的活跃贸易来开始华盛顿的经济故事。

作为美国最后未被发现的边境之一,华盛顿的先驱历史直到1800年代中期总统菲尔莫尔(Fillmore)总统向任何21岁以上的白人男性提供土地赠款时才真正起飞。这似乎与“另一华盛顿”无关紧要土著部落已经在这片土地上生活了。 但是闸门现在向西方扩张开放,并且将永远改变当时华盛顿领地的面貌。

大约20到30年后,当横贯大陆的铁路到达时,工业化和繁荣飞速发展。 尽管美国其他地区经历了近50年的工业革命,但华盛顿领地的转型仅用了20年,就使一位记者写道:“在这些快速生活的日子里,三年似乎是一个世纪。”

新的前沿。

迟到党当然有其优势。 东海岸的一些城市努力适应工业革命带来的新想法,例如电力和无马车。 但是华盛顿的城市相对容易地容纳了他们。 公民规划中的任何障碍都来自具有挑战性的地理环境,而不是当时的技术进步。

工业革命所用的茂密森林和丰富的煤炭储备几乎在一夜之间就为该州的经济带来了提振。 随着金矿热从育空地区席卷而下,并进入为矿工提供服务的西海岸日益拥挤的城市,阿拉斯加淘金热进一步加剧了经济危机。

快速增长并非没有代价。 随着伐木工人和加工厂工人试图跟上需求,工作场所安全成为一个热门问题,因此,工人组建了第一个工会,以保证工人八个小时的工作日以及工人因工受伤的赔偿。

在一个人的一生中,华盛顿已经从一个古老的美洲印第安人的捕鱼和狩猎场变成了开创性的政治和社会实验以及无与伦比的创新和发明时期,从利用哥伦比亚河原始力量的强大水坝到结束世界大战的原子。

关于华盛顿

独特的开拓精神。

正是在这一时期,华盛顿独特的开拓精神得以发展。 早期的定居者别无选择,只能自生自灭,学会在这片土地上生活。 从东部沿海地区运来的货物受风不停和无情的海所左右,需要几个月的时间才能到达。 并非所有人都面临日常生活的不确定性和不便。 花了勇气和毅力,将逆境变成了机遇,而机遇变成了进步。

在美国其他地区常见的文化和种族隔离在华盛顿的城镇中并不常见。 这些地方生活的坎and坎t,要求定居者相互依靠才能生存。 共同点成为要完成的工作,您的邻居是根据他们的工作道德而不是种族来判断的。

波音公司的B-17轰炸机在西雅图工厂下线。来自各行各业的男人,妇女和儿童在华盛顿州寻求冒险和繁荣。 在一个只有700名居民的小镇罗斯林,一间教室的校舍里有24个民族。

与该国其他地区一样,华盛顿的命运随着国家的经济发展而起伏不定。 第一次世界大战期间,地区造船厂占战争期间建造的所有船舶的四分之一。 大萧条袭来时,居民们排在汤里,住在棚户区。 石油取代了煤炭,从而关闭了许多煤矿。 木材继续提供一定的稳定性,但是第二次世界大战使该地区恢复了活力。

第二次世界大战期间,成千上万的工人搬到华盛顿制造轰炸机,坦克和其他战争武器。 在高峰期,波音公司的西雅图工厂每天生产五架B-17轰炸机,因为每个人都参加了这场战争。

在喀斯喀特山脉,伐木工人砍伐了巨大的,古老的杉树,将其碾成飞机,轮船的木材。 军营。 在华盛顿东部,工人完全保密地开发了用于曼哈顿计划的the,从而改变了帕斯科肯纳威克的昏昏欲睡的农场社区 里奇兰– 三城市 –隔夜进入主要人口中心。

战后华盛顿。

第二次世界大战结束后,华盛顿的经济设法从战时生产转向和平时期。 爱达荷州和俄勒冈州的经济与收割自然资源紧密相连,而战后并不需要如此大量的自然资源。华盛顿的经济得益于冷战时期新一代飞机和军舰的军事合同,以及战略部署的军事力量的日益重要基地。

波音在这方面起了带头作用,以至于一位经济学家指出:“波音公司也是如此,普吉特海湾地区也是如此。”

即使波音公司是该地区最大的雇主,华盛顿州也很难在全国范围内大放异彩。 当有人提到华盛顿时,最经常想到的是国家的首都而不是州。 直到1962年,公民计划者赢得了世界博览会,世界才开始受到关注。 数十个国家来到西雅图参加 21世纪博览会。 博览会不仅吸引了国际观众,而且引起了众多媒体的关注。 博览会的标志性太空针塔出现在全球数千份报纸和数十本杂志的封面上。 甚至埃尔维斯·普雷斯利(Elvis Presley)也停下来拍电影, 它发生在世界博览会上.

从繁荣到萧条。

广告牌上写着最后一位离开西雅图的人-请关灯辉煌的日子不会永远持续下去。 1970年代,美国政府取消了雄心勃勃的超音速民用喷气飞机项目,随后不久又在波音裁员。 由于航空业巨头有五分之一的工作岗位,因此经济不景气。 著名的是,一个摇摇欲坠的居民在国际机场附近购买了一个广告牌,上面写着:“最后一个会离开西雅图吗?把灯熄灭。”

确实,这是一个很难的教训,因为它过于依赖单一的经济引擎。 在随后的几年中,国家在建立更多元化的经济(以新兴的技术部门为基础)的过程中变得更加勤奋。 得益于航空航天业,华盛顿拥有比其他州更多的工程师和技术工人,后者探索了新的想法并创建了新的企业。 其中包括新兴的信息和通信技术行业中的大胆创业公司,如McCaw Cellular,Aldus,Microsoft和Cray之类的先驱。

在华盛顿东部,苹果和樱桃等传统农作物开始与葡萄和啤酒花共享肥沃的土地。 以华盛顿优质食材制成的葡萄酒和啤酒的销售开始兴起,新的食品制造企业也开始如此。 廉价的电力和充足的水也使华盛顿东部地区出现了一种新型农场,即数据农场,这些农场曾经仅依靠农业来实现经济增长。

一个新的方向。

确实,华盛顿继续在多个方面重塑自己,成为现代的创意经济。 由于在全州范围内扩展宽带连接的努力,农村社区开始成为从游戏,移动应用到大数据的基于技术的初创公司的天堂。 大城市的核心城市正在复兴,吸引了年轻的工人和家庭,他们在充满活力的市区享受生活和工作的便利。

其他想要利用华盛顿的先驱精神和声誉提出惊人想法的公司也加入了亚马逊,好市多(Costco),帕卡(Paccar),诺德斯特罗姆(Nordstrom)和星巴克(Starbucks)等当地商业传奇,包括Facebook,SpaceX,Twitter,Google和Apple。

结果,令人振奋的新机遇即将出现。 商业空间,复合材料,医疗设备,人工智能,增强现实和虚拟现实以及机器人技术正在全州创造新的就业机会和新产业,它们具有同样的韧性,毅力和开拓精神,在华盛顿获得了创新和发明的国际声誉。

2020年全球大流行和经济放缓证实了各国领导人一直以来的认识; 这种多样化是在华盛顿经济中建立抵御能力的关键。 即使某些行业(包括旅游业和航空航天业)经历了低迷时期,该州的生命科学,农业和技术行业仍在继续发展和成熟,随着疫苗进入市场,它为快速复苏和长期繁荣创造了一条途径。 随着世界开始从COVID-19中复苏,华盛顿已准备好引领进入繁荣与经济增长新时代的道路。

 

 

 

需要帮助?

我们的业务专家将为您服务!

Loggers use an ox team to pull logs out of a Washington State old-growth forest

“The serenity of the climate, the innumerable pleasing landscapes, and the abundant fertility that unassisted nature puts forth, require only to be enriched by the industry of men with villages, mansions, cottages and other buildings, to render it the most lovely country that can be imagined.”

- Captain George Vancouver, 1792

Washington State's pioneering past.

One of the last undiscovered frontiers in the United States, Washington State came of age relatively late in American history. Where the east coast and Midwest had already been settled for a hundred years or more, settlers didn’t arrive in Washington until the mid-1800s. Even then, it took another 20 to 30 years before the transcontinental railroads arrived, bringing industrialization and prosperity to what was then known as the Washington Territory.

With the railroads came progress, in some cases, at a breakneck pace. While it took the rest of the U.S. almost 50 years to embrace the Industrial Revolution, the transformation in the Washington Territory was a mere 20 years, leading one reporter to write, “Three years seem like a century in these days of fast living."
 

The new frontier

Being late to the party had its advantages. Where east coast cities struggled to accommodate new ideas brought on by the Industrial Revolution such as electricity and horseless carriages, Washington’s cities accommodated them with relative ease. Any hurdles in civic planning came from the challenging geography, not the technology.

The dense forests and rich coal reserves used to fuel the Industrial Revolution gave the state’s economy a boost virtually overnight. The Alaska Gold Rush added further fuel to the economic fire as gold fever swept down from the Yukon and into the increasingly crowded cities along the west coast.

Rapid growth did not come without a price. As lumberjacks and mill workers tried to keep up with demand, workplace safety became a heated issue and in response, workers formed the first unions to give workers the eight-hour workday and worker’s compensation for job-related injuries.

Within one person’s lifetime, Washington had gone from an ancient Native American fishing and hunting ground to groundbreaking political and social experiments and an unrivaled period of innovation and invention, from the mighty dams that tamed the Columbia River to the taming of the atom to bring an end to world war.
 

A pioneer spirit

It was here that Washington’s unique pioneer spirit evolved. Early settlers had no choice but to fend for themselves and learn to live off the land. Shipments of goods from the eastern seaboard were at the mercy of fickle winds and unforgiving seas. Facing the uncertainty and inconvenience of daily life was not for everyone. It took grit and perseverance to turn adversity into opportunity and opportunity into progress.

The separation of cultures and ethnicities that was common in other parts of the U.S. was not common in Washington towns. The rough and tumble existence of life in these parts required that settlers turn to one another to survive. The common ground became the work to be done and your neighbor was judged by their work ethic, not their ethnic background.

Boeing B-17 bombers roll off the assembly line at the Seattle plant.Men, women and children came from all walks of life to seek adventure and prosperity in Washington State. In the small coal town of Roslyn, a town of just 700 residents, 24 nationalities were represented in a single elementary school classroom.

As with other parts of the country, Washington’s fortunes rose and fell with the nation’s economy. During World War I, area shipyards turned out a quarter of all ships built during the war. During the Great Depression, residents stood in soup lines and lived in shantytowns. Oil replaced coal, closing many of the mines. Lumber continued to provide some stability, but it took a second world war to bring the area back to life.

During World War II, thousands of workers arrived in the state to build bombers, tanks and other weapons of war. At its peak, Boeing’s Seattle plant turned out five B-17 bombers a day as everyone pitched in to win the war. In the Cascade mountains, lumberjacks felled giant old-growth trees to mill into lumber for airplanes, ships and barracks. In Eastern Washington, workers developed the plutonium used for the Manhattan Project in complete secrecy, transforming the sleepy farm communities of Kennewick, Pasco and Richland – the Tri Cities – into major population centers overnight.
 

Post-war Washington

After the WW II ended, Washington’s economy managed to shift from wartime production to peacetime with few problems. Where Idaho and Oregon’s economy were based on harvesting natural resources – which weren’t needed in such great quantities after the war – Washington’s economy benefitted from Cold War military contracts for new generations of bombers and weapons of war and the presence of strategically important military bases.

Boeing led the way in this regard, so much so that one economist remarked, “As goes Boeing, so does the Puget Sound region.”

Even with Boeing as the region's largest employer, Washington State was hardly a household name internationally. It wasn’t until civic planners secured a world’s fair in 1962 that the world began to take notice. Dozens of countries came to Seattle to exhibit at the Century 21 Exposition. The fair not only attracted an international audience but lots of media attention. The fair's iconic Space Needle appeared in thousands of newspapers and on the covers of dozens of magazines worldwide.
 

From bust to boom

The glory days were not to last forever. In the 1970s, the U.S. government canceled its ambitious supersonic transport project and the layoffs at Boeing followed soon after. With one out of five jobs tied to the aerospace giant, the economy sank to the bottom, with one wag purchasing a billboard near the airport that said, “Will the last one leaving SEATTLE – Please turn out the lights.”

It was a hard lesson learned, leaning too heavily on a single economic engine. In the intervening years, the state became more diligent in its quest to create a more diversified economy, one founded on emerging technology sectors. Thanks to the aerospace industry, Washington had a higher percentage of engineers and technology workers that other states, which began to attract new enterprises. This included bold startups in the nascent information and communication technology industry, pioneers like McCaw Cellular, Aldus, Microsoft and Cray.
 

In Eastern Washington, traditional crops such as apples and cherries began to share the fertile land with grapes and hops. Sales of wine and beer made with premium Washington grapes and hops began to take off, as did new food manufacturing enterprises. Inexpensive power and plenty of water also gave rise to a new type of farm in Eastern Washington – the data farm – in communities that once relied solely on agriculture for economic growth.

A new direction

Indeed, Washington continues to reinvent itself on multiple fronts. Thanks to efforts to expand broadband connectivity statewide, rural communities are beginning to become havens for technology-based startups, from gaming and mobile apps to big data. Urban centers such as Spokane, Seattle and Tacoma are enjoying a renaissance, attracting younger workers and families who enjoy the convenience of living in an energetic downtown core.

Local business legends such as Amazon, Paccar, Nordstrom and Starbucks are being joined by other companies that want to leverage Washington’s pioneer spirit and reputation for bold ideas, including Facebook, SpaceX, Google and Apple.

As a result, exciting new opportunities are coming online. Commercial space, composites, medical devices, cloud computing and energy storage are creating new jobs and potentially entire new industries, built with that same resilience, perseverance and pioneer spirit that made Washington such a unique place to live, work and start a business.

About Washington

Why Washington?

Share