毅力漫游者通过Aerojet推进器降低到火星表面。正如NASA所说,降落在火星上是“恐怖的七分钟”。 但是,由于雷蒙德(Redmond)航空火箭公司(Aerojet Rocketdyne)的火箭奇才,毅力一直以来都很好。

在12,500 pm到达大气层后,八架Aerojet Rocketdyne MR-107U推进器帮助稳定了航天器,因为该航天器开始减速至足以部署其超音速降落伞。 当毅力接近地面时,八个处于下降状态的MR80B节流推进器使飞船停在火星表面上方,从而使空中吊车将一吨的毅力安全地降低到Jezero Crater的地板上。

这几乎不是Aerojet Rocketdyne的第一个火星牛仔竞技表演。 自1970年代的维京计划以来,该公司一直是NASA每次成功执行火星任务的一部分。 这包括一个类似的好奇号着陆系统,该系统于2012年使用天车降落在火星上。

坚持不懈的任务大大提高了赌注,选择了被认为是干dried的湖床作为着陆点。 航天器根据地形自行选择了着陆点,设法从预计的着陆区仅着陆了1.7公里。 航天飞机的两侧是崎and不平,险峻的地形。

雷德蒙德火箭工厂还生产了用于Atlas V的Centaur上级的反应控制系统推进器。 12台MR-106推进器控制了助推器的俯仰,偏航和侧倾控制,这有助于恒心摆脱地球引力的影响,从而可以继续到达火星。

有关Aerojet的更多信息,请访问 www.Rocket.com.

The Perseverance rover is lowered down to the surface of Mars by Aerojet thrusters.As NASA likes to say, landing on Mars is “seven minutes of terror.” But Perseverance was in good hands all along, thanks to the rocketry wizards at Aerojet Rocketdyne in Redmond.

After hitting the atmosphere at 12,500 p.m., eight Aerojet Rocketdyne MR-107U thrusters helped stabilize the spacecraft as it began to slow down enough to deploy its supersonic parachute. As Perseverance neared the surface, eight MR80B throttling thrusters on the descent state brought the craft to a stop above the Martian surface, allowing the sky crane to lower the one-ton Perseverance safely to the floor of Jezero Crater.

This is hardly Aerojet Rocketdyne’s first Martian rodeo. The company has been part of every successful NASA mission to Mars since the Viking program in the 1970s. This included a similar landing system for Curiosity, which landed on Mars in 2012 using a sky crane.

The Perseverance mission upped the ante significantly, choosing what is believed to be a dried lakebed as its landing site. The spacecraft self-selected its landing spot based on the terrain, managing to land just 1.7 kilometers from its predicted landing zone. Rougher and far more precarious terrain flanked the spacecraft on either side.

The Redmond rocket factory also produced the reaction control system thrusters for Atlas V’s Centaur upper stage. The 12 MR-106 thrusters controlled the pitch, yaw and roll control for the booster, which helped Perseverance leave the pull of Earth’s gravity so it could continue on to Mars.

For more information about Aerojet, visit www.Rocket.com.

 

 

Translate »