華盛頓的氣候和地域多樣。

W就氣候和地理而言,華盛頓州是一項對比研究。 儘管人們普遍認為華盛頓一直在下雨,但西雅圖實際上在美國主要城市中排名第44位,每年的降雨量少於波士頓,紐約,休斯敦和邁阿密。

該州的地理環境幾乎千差萬別。 華盛頓有七個獨特的地理區域,從崎coastline的太平洋海岸線和激增的喀斯喀特火山峰到哥倫比亞盆地的肥沃田野。 雖然試圖深入探索數千年來創造瞭如此多樣化景觀的地質,但我們將專注於該州的兩個截然不同的方面,因為地質不僅驅動著地理,而且還驅動著氣候。

西華盛頓

喀斯喀特山脈將該州分為兩個部分-西華盛頓州和東華盛頓州。 華盛頓西部人口最稠密。 該州約60%的人口居住在山區西部。 西雅圖,塔科馬,奧林匹亞,溫哥華和貝靈漢都位於該州的西側。

隨著冰川在最後一個冰河時代退縮,他們將記憶銘刻在土地上。 在許多河流和湖泊的地方,華盛頓西部丘陵多山,甚至多山。 其中包括三個決定大西雅圖都會區地理的湖泊:聯合湖,華盛頓湖和薩馬米甚湖。 同樣的冰川活動也創造了許多點綴在胡安德富卡海峽和普吉特海灣的島嶼。 結果是景觀不斷變化且令人嘆為觀止。

華盛頓西部的天氣相對溫和。 夏季很少會升高到79°(26°C)以上,而冬季很少會低於45°(8°C)。 降雪很少,但是冬天的夜晚溫度很容易降至20到30攝氏度(-6°至-1°C)。 大西雅圖地區的年降雨量約為37英寸(94厘米)。

太平洋形成了一個海洋層,冬季,春季和秋季都經常出現雲層,但是幾天的持續降雨是個例外,而不是常規。 XNUMX月和XNUMX月是華盛頓西部最乾旱的月份。 一月和二月最潮濕。 很少有家庭裝有空調。

從大西雅圖地區的大多數有利位置,您可以輕鬆地看到數千年來形成了華盛頓宏偉特徵的地質動蕩的證據。 該地區四面環山:西部是奧林匹克運動場,東部是喀斯喀特山脈。 北部的貝克和雄偉的山。 該州最高的山峰雷尼爾(Rainier)向南眺望。

關於華盛頓

年降水量

華盛頓東部

正如太平洋和奧林匹克山脈影響華盛頓西部一樣,喀斯喀特山脈也會影響該州東部的天氣和氣候。 小瀑布捕獲了大部分原本會落在華盛頓東部的降雨。 山區每年最多可以降雪200英寸(508厘米),為 冬季運動 愛好者。

在小瀑布的陰影下,幾乎沒有降雨,韋納奇,埃倫斯堡和三城市等城市一年最多可享受300天的日照。 年降雨量遠遠少於華盛頓西部。 在該州的中部地區,氣候是沿海和大陸性天氣的混合體,每年的降雨約為7至9英寸(18至23厘米)。 在標誌著該州東部邊緣的斯波坎,年平均降雨量為15至30英寸(38至76厘米)。

與該州的西半部相比,夏天更熱,冬天更冷。 夏季的平均最高溫度在80年代至90年代中期(27°至34°C),在冬季,白天的平均溫度範圍可以從30攝氏度到0°F(3°至-17°C)以上。

就地理而言,華盛頓中部幾乎像平原,當您向東行駛時,會被起伏的丘陵所取代。 豐富的火山土壤和乾燥的天氣造就了一個理想的生態系統, 農業和食品製造業 –華盛頓東部地區種植了300多種農作物。 哥倫比亞峽谷(Columbia Gorge)的牆壁被侵蝕嚴重,距哥倫比亞河(Columbia River)高達3,000英尺(76.2 m),這為該州的自然美景增色不少。 這條河的水壩為整個華盛頓州的企業提供了可再生的低成本能源。

惡劣天氣和地質Hijinks

您不會在天氣頻道上看到太多華盛頓。 得益於海洋空氣和多樣化的地理環境,該州很少遇到惡劣的天氣模式,如破壞性的颶風或吉姆·坎托雷(Jim Cantore)所覆蓋的龍捲風。 暴風雪和重大暴風雪非常罕見,居民們給他們起了個名字,例如2019年的雪地大戰,1962年的哥倫布日風暴或1983年的感恩節風暴。

大規模洪水也是如此。 在雨季或山上積雪迅速融化時,您會看到該州河流沿岸發生局部洪災。 但是該州的丘陵地帶使洪水氾濫(如您在佛羅里達州,得克薩斯州和路易斯安那州市區所看到的)非常罕見。

國家應對的唯一自然力量是偶然的地震。 大多數都是較小的較新的建築物和房屋(例如,1970年左右以後建造的房屋),其建造目的是為了使它們幾乎不受損壞。 上一次“重大”地震發生在2001年,然後是1965年和1949年。

需要幫助?

我們的業務專家將為您服務!

Washington’s diverse climate and geography.

When it comes to climate and geography, Washington State is a study in contrasts. While there is a somewhat common perception that it rains all the time in Washington, Seattle actually ranks 44th among major U.S. cities, getting less rainfall annually than Boston, New York, Houston and Miami.

The state’s geography is diverse and spectacular at almost every turn. Washington has seven distinct physiographic regions, from the rugged Pacific coastline and soaring volcanic peaks of the Cascades to the fertile fields of the Columbia Basin. While it’s tempting to delve deep into the geology that created such a diverse landscape over thousands of years, we’ll focus on the two distinct sides of the state since the geology not only drives the geography, but also the climate.

Western Washington

The Cascade Mountain Range divides the state Washington into two parts – Western Washington and Eastern Washington. Western Washington is the most densely populated; approximately 60% of the state’s population lives west of the mountains. Seattle, Tacoma, Olympia, Vancouver and Bellingham are all located on the west side of the state.

As the glaciers retreated during the last ice age, they carved their memories into the land. Western Washington is hilly and even mountainous in places with lots of rivers and lakes. This includes the three lakes that dictate the geography of the greater Seattle metropolitan area: Lakes Union, Washington and Sammamish. This same glacial activity also created the many islands that dot the Strait of Juan de Fuca and Puget Sound. The result is a landscape that is ever changing and often breathtaking.

The weather is relatively mild in Western Washington. Summer days rarely rise above 79° (26° C) and winter days are seldom below 45° (8° C) during the day. Snow is rare, but winter temperatures can easily dip into the 20s and 30s (-6° to -1° C) at night. Annual rainfall in the greater Seattle area is about 37 inches (94 cm).

The Pacific Ocean creates a marine layer where clouds are frequent in the winter, spring and fall, but a day that is all gray is the exception rather than the rule. July and August are the driest months in Western Washington; January and February the wettest. Few homes have air-conditioning.

From most vantage points in the greater Seattle area, you can readily see evidence of the geologic upheaval that forged Washington’s magnificent features over thousands of years. The region is surrounded on all sides by mountains: the Olympics to the west, Cascades to the east, Mt. Baker to the north and majestic Mt. Rainier, the tallest peak in the state, commands the view to the south.

About Washington

Annual Precipitation

Eastern Washington

Just as the Pacific Ocean and Olympic Mountains influence Western Washington, the Cascade Range affects the weather and climate in the eastern part of the state. The Cascades capture most of the rain that would otherwise fall in Eastern Washington. The mountains can get up to 200 inches (508 cm) of snowfall a year, creating a paradise for winter sports enthusiasts.

In the shadow of the Cascades, little rain falls and cities like Wenatchee, Chelan and the Tri-Cities enjoy up to 300 days of sunshine a year. Annual rainfall is far less than in Western Washington. In the center part of the state, the climate is a blend of coastal and continental weather and rainfall is approximately 7 to 9 inches (18 to 23 cm) annually. In Spokane, which marks the eastern edge of the state, rainfall averages 15 to 30 inches (38 to 76 cm) a year.

Summers are much hotter and winters are much colder compared to the western half of the state. The average summer highs are in the upper 80s to mid 90s (27° to 34° C) and in winter, average daytime temperatures can range from the upper 30s to just above 0° F (3° to -17° C).

In terms of geography, Central Washington is almost plains-like, giving way to rolling hills as you travel east. The rich volcanic soil and dry weather creates an ecosystem that is ideal for agriculture and food manufacturing – more than 300 crops are grown in Eastern Washington. The Columbia Gorge, with its spectacularly eroded walls that rise up 3,000 feet (76.2 m) from the Columbia River, adds to the natural beauty of this part of the state. The river’s hydroelectric dams provide renewable, low-cost energy to businesses throughout Washington.

Severe Weather

You won’t see Washington on The Weather Channel much. Thanks to the marine air and diverse geography, the state rarely experiences severe weather patterns like the damaging hurricanes or tornadoes you see Jim Cantore covering. Blizzards and major windstorms are rare enough that residents give them names, such as Snowmageddon 2012, the Columbus Day Storm (1962) or the Thanksgiving Day Storm of 1983.

Need Assistance?

Our business experts are standing by!

Contact us!