亞馬遜在西雅圖的世界總部。華盛頓的航空航天根源可能根深蒂固,但該技術公司首次宣稱該州最大雇主的頭銜。

由首席執行官傑夫·貝佐斯(Jeff Bezos)在克萊德山(Clyde Hill)車庫開始,亞馬遜已成長為該州的第一大雇主,超越了另一個本土成功的故事波音(Boeing)。 根據至少一位歷史學家的說法,自第二次世界大戰以來,波音公司的頭銜一直是非正式的。

儘管亞馬遜在市場上的主導地位得到了全球大流行病和在家定單的大力幫助,但該公司還受益於華盛頓不斷發展的技術領域,該領域今天在全州僱用了約200,000名工人。

這些工人中有80,000多是亞馬遜人,僅一年就增加了25%。 該公司在全球範圍內擁有約400,000萬名員工。 去年,即使經濟本身過山車,其股價也飆升了72%。 據估計,亞馬遜為華盛頓州的經濟增加了超過87億美元,間接地為華盛頓州增加了220,000萬個工作崗位。

相比之下,波音公司當年的收入為71,829。 但是旅遊業的大流行和低迷導致訂單被延遲或取消。 到年底,州內就業人數為58,800。

向技術經濟的轉變始於數十年前,波音在該行業的增長中起著很大的作用。 Cray,Microsoft,Aldus和McCaw Cellular等巨頭幫助刺激了進一步的增長和擴展,因為前員工創造了新的努力。 隨著時間的流逝,其他公司在硬件,軟件雲計算,人工智能和遊戲領域的人才和機會的吸引下,開設或開設了工程辦公室。

如今,亞馬遜辦事處遍布普吉特海灣地區,其全球總部設在西雅圖南湖聯盟附近。

科技經濟的崛起對該地區的特徵產生了溢出效應。 普吉特海灣地區是一個崎rug的藍領社區,如今已成為世界上最重要的技術中心之一,估計有14,000個技術企業,從單人創業公司到亞馬遜。 工人階級的酒吧和餐館已經被豪華的餐館和啤酒館所取代,迎合了年輕的,具有技術意識的觀眾,並將這座城市轉變為一個文化,娛樂和生活質量的高級中心。

閱讀更多 西雅圖時報.

Amazon's World Headquarters in Seattle.Washington’s aerospace roots may run deep, but the crown for the state’s largest employer has been claimed by a technology company for the first time.

Started in a Clyde Hill garage by CEO Jeff Bezos, Amazon has grown to become the state’s #1 employer, eclipsing another home-grown success story, Boeing. According to at least one historian, the unofficial title has probably been Boeing’s since the end of World War II.

While Amazon’s dominant position in the marketplace received a sizable assist from a global pandemic and stay-at-home orders, the company has also benefitted from Washington’s growing technology sector, which today employs some 200,000 workers statewide.

More than 80,000 of those workers are Amazonians, a 25% increase in just a year. Worldwide, the company employs approximately 400,000 workers. In the last year, its stock prices have soared by 72%, even though the economy itself went for a roller coaster ride. It’s estimated that Amazon has added more than $87 billion to Washington’s economy, indirectly supporting an additional 220,000 jobs.

In contrast, Boeing went into the year with 71,829. But the pandemic and downturns in the travel industry caused orders to be delayed or canceled. By year’s end, in-state employment stood at 58,800.

The shift to a technology economy started decades ago, with Boeing playing a large part in the sector’s growth. Giants like Cray, Microsoft, Aldus and McCaw Cellular helped spur additional growth and expansion as former employees created new endeavors. Over time, other companies started or opened engineering offices, drawn by the talent and the opportunities in hardware, software cloud computing, artificial intelligence and gaming.

Today, Amazon offices are located throughout the Puget Sound region, anchored by its world headquarters in the South Lake Union neighborhood of Seattle.

The rise of the tech economy has had a spillover effect on the very character of the region. Long a rugged blue-collar community, the greater Puget Sound region is now one of the world’s foremost technology centers with an estimated 14,000 tech businesses, from one-person startups to Amazon. Working-class bars and restaurants have given away to posh eateries and brewpubs, catering to a younger, tech-minded audience and transforming the city into a sophisticated center for culture, entertainment and quality of life.

Read more in The Seattle Times.

Translate »