大胆地去没有人去过的地方。

Aerojet徽标每当飞向其他行星或其他太阳系的飞船离开地球的速度加快时,华盛顿州的一部分都会随之而去。

华盛顿太空团的种子于1968年播种。波音公司的几名工程师自行罢工,创立了一家名为Rocket Research的公司。 很快他们就不再需要在南方公园(South Park)的最初空间了,离波音总部只有一箭之遥。 为了寻求更大的机会,他们前往华盛顿的雷德蒙德,今天是科技的温床,是Microsoft和SpaceX以及Aerojet Rocketdyne的所在地。 1968年,主要是马牧场和谷仓。

在过去的50年中,Aerojet Rocketdyne为每项行星和行星际太空任务生产了火箭和推进器,从微小的推进器将飞行器轻轻推向正确的轨迹,再到大型火箭可以使着陆器以每小时数千英里的速度在太空中飞驰这样它就可以小心翼翼地降落在另一个星球上。 有些可能处于休眠状态,长达数月之久,在恶劣的太空条件下长时间不活动之后,它们才被激活。 还有一些必须做得非常精细,以至于当它以77,000 mph的速度行驶时,它们可以精确地引导航天器在土星环之间。

误差幅度:零。 如果出现问题,您将无法派出维修卡车进行维修。

这使得该公司从未失败过,这一点更加令人瞩目。 它的20,000台推进器中没有一个执行任务失败。 至少在某种情况下,当另一家公司的火箭弹失败时,他们的一组推进器实际上拯救了任务。 凭借一点点独创性,Aerojet Rocketdyne能够使用其较小的推进器将航天器送入正确的轨道。

这些火箭和推进器以及制造它们的人有多酷? 尽管大多数人从事业务几乎没有夸张,但有些任务却非常复杂。

好奇号火星任务就是一个很好的例子。 将小型轿车的大小的火星车降到行星表面并不容易,特别是在像火星这样具有挑战性的环境中。 解决方案需要36种不同的火箭和推进器。 前十二个使飞船进入轨道并指向正确的方向。 八枚较小的火箭,每枚仅具有一磅的推力,将航天器引导至稳定的巡航阶段。 从那里,又发射了八枚火箭,将着陆器引向目标区域。 最终,八枚更大的火箭(每个火箭具有12磅的推力)使着陆器减速到可以在悬停时用天车将好奇号降低到地面的程度。 六个月的相对无聊之后是六分钟的绝对恐怖。 任何推进器的故障都可能摧毁这辆耗资600亿美元的着陆器和流动站。

如今,Aerojet Rocketdyne几乎不为自己的桂冠或出色的业绩记录而感到震惊。 该公司正在探索新的推进技术,其中包括使用由太阳能电池阵列提供动力的电力推进技术,从而使航天器能够携带更安全,毒性更小的燃料。 他们还在进行核热推进研究,其效率是当今使用的液态氧/氢燃料推进器的两倍。

Aerojet Rocketdyne还将注意力转移到美国的下一个重大任务:将美国人降落在月球上,最后降落在火星上。 该公司已经签署了为Artemis任务生产推进器和推进系统的合同,这将确保公司今后的工作。

一个人只能想象公司的400名员工中的任何一个人在任何特定的夜晚仰望天空是多么的满足,知道他们的辛勤工作在广阔的空间中某个地方,扩展了我们对太阳系的理解以及超越它的范围。

参观公司的 官网.

Boldly going where no one has gone before.

Aerojet logoEvery time a spacecraft bound for other planets or other solar systems speeds away from earth, part of Washington State goes with it.

The seeds for Washington’s space cluster were sown in 1968. A couple engineers from Boeing struck out on their own, starting a company called Rocket Research. It didn’t take long to outgrow their initial space in South Park, a stone’s throw from Boeing’s headquarters. Looking for bigger digs, they headed for Redmond, Washington, which today is a hotbed of tech and home to Microsoft and SpaceX as well as Aerojet Rocketdyne. In 1968, it was mostly horse pastures and barns.

Over the last 50 years, Aerojet Rocketdyne has produced rockets and thrusters for every planetary and interplanetary space mission, from tiny thrusters that gently nudge a craft into the correct trajectory to large rockets that can slow a lander hurtling through space at thousands of miles an hour to so it can gingerly touch down on another planet in one piece. Some may lie dormant for months, being called into action after long periods of inactivity in the harsh conditions of space. Still others must be so finely crafted that they can accurately guide a spacecraft between the rings of Saturn as it travels 77,000 mph.

The margin of error: zero. If something were to go wrong, you can’t exactly send a service truck out to fix it.

Which makes it even more remarkable that the company has never had a failure. None of its 20,000 thrusters have failed on a mission. In at least case, a set of their thrusters actually saved a mission when another company’s rockets failed. Using a little bit of ingenuity, Aerojet Rocketdyne was able to use their smaller thrusters to send the spacecraft into the correct orbit.

How cool are these rockets and thrusters and the people that make them? While most of them go about their business with little to no fanfare, some missions are astoundingly complex.

The Curiosity mission to Mars is a prime example. Lowering a rover the size of a small sedan onto the surface of a planet isn’t exactly easy, especially in an environment as challenging as Mars. The solution required 36 different rockets and thrusters. The first 12 brought the spacecraft into orbit and pointed it in the right direction. Eight smaller rockets, each with just a pound of thrust, guided the spacecraft into its stable cruise phase. From there, eight more rockets fired to steer the lander toward its target area. Finally, eight larger rockets – with 600 pounds of thrust each –  slowed the lander to the point that it could gently lower Curiosity to the surface with a sky crane as it hovered. Six months of relative boredom followed by six minutes of sheer terror. The failure of any thruster could have destroyed the $2.5 billion lander and rover.

Aerojet Rocketdyne is hardly resting on its laurels these days or its outstanding performance record. The company is exploring new propulsion technologies, including one that uses electric propulsion powered by solar arrays, allowing spacecraft to carry safer, less toxic fuels. They are also performing research on nuclear thermal propulsion, which would be twice as efficient as liquid oxygen/hydrogen fueled thrusters in use today.

Aerojet Rocketdyne is also turning its attention to the next big U.S. mission: landing Americans on Moon and eventually Mars. The company has signed contracts to produce thrusters and propulsion systems for the Artemis missions, which will ensure the company years of work down the road.

One can only imagine how satisfying it is for any one of the company’s 400 employees to look up in the sky on any particular night, knowing that their hard work is somewhere out there in the vast reaches of space, expanding our understanding of the solar system and what lies beyond it.

Visit the company’s website.

 

 

Translate »