我拿书,割草机和6号泵。

一个成功的企业家似乎永远不会动摇,即使他们已经成功了。 对于亚马逊的创始人杰夫·贝索斯(Jeff Bezos)来说,光是投资银行家的光明前景还远远不够-他的梦想是在1994年一项相对鲜为人知的创新-万维网上创建新业务。

这一切都是从无辜开始的。 贝索斯(Bezos)一直在寻找新的公司进行投资,在他的研究过程中,他注意到网络使用率正以惊人的速度增长,每月达2,300%。 看到互联网的潜力后,他开始考虑可以在网上销售什么。 由于电子商务仍处于起步阶段,因此实际上没有任何业务可以建模。 在考虑了几十条产品线之后,他选择了书籍,这主要是因为世界上出版的书籍数量巨大,而附近一家书店的选择极为有限。

当他的妻子开车穿越全国前往西雅图时,贝索斯在笔记本电脑上敲出了自己的商业计划,而他在电话上挑出了潜在的投资者。

如今传奇的生意扎根于西雅图郊区贝尔维尤的两个车库。 从一开始,贝佐斯就希望创建一个站点,人们可以在那里闲逛并谈论书籍,分享评论,当然还可以漫游虚拟通道并轻松而轻松地进行购买。

“地球上最大的书店”于1995年100月开业,拥有一百万本图书。 订单几乎立即开始流入。 不到一年的时间,该公司从只有五名员工发展到现在的一百名员工,销售额达到了15.7万美元。 三年之内,公司在全球拥有610名员工,销售额增长至3,000亿美元。

当然,众所周知,书籍只是开始。 Bezos和他的团队很快发现,客户不仅需要书籍,还添加了种类不断扩大的产品类别列表,以使他们回头再来。

然后回来,他们做到了。 据估计,在美国有互联网连接的每个人中,有三分之二是一次或两次从亚马逊订购的。 从书籍开始,该公司就不断扩展到新领域,包括软件和硬件,最畅销的Kindle平板电脑系列证明了这一点。

他们成功的秘诀之一是对数据的持续分析,通常是基于最小的趋势做出大胆的决定,或者收集一些市场上还没有其他人看到的趋势。 再加上他们通常在一夜之间将产品运送到世界各地的客户的能力,改变了消费者对购物体验的期望。 某些类别的余震,例如衣物和食物,仍在被感觉到。

亚马逊明智地意识到,扩大产品范围是成功的关键,出色的客户服务也是如此。 尽管最初他们自称是世界上最大的书店,但一直努力跟上的实体书店对此提出了激烈的争议,亚马逊意识到他们可以使用自己的在线商务系统来提供各种商品,这使得亚马逊很容易及其第三方合作伙伴,以吸引大量客户。 他们的使命是“建立一个人们可以找到并发现他们可能想在网上购买的商品的地方。”

大多数人都会同意,《华盛顿商业传奇》已经取得了很大的成功,并且看来他们的成功没有尽头。

访问 Amazon.com.

I’ll take the book, the lawnmower and the size 6 pumps.

A successful entrepreneur seems to be ever restless, even when they are already successful. For Jeff Bezos, the founder of Amazon, a great future as an investment banker wasn’t enough – his dream was to create a new business on what was in 1994 a relatively unknown innovation – the World Wide Web.

It all began innocently enough. Bezos was looking for new companies to invest in and during his research noticed that web usage was growing at an astonishing rate, 2,300% a month. Seeing the potential of the Internet, he started thinking about what he could sell online. There really weren’t any businesses to model, as e-commerce was still in its infancy. After considering a couple dozen product lines, he settled on books, largely because of the sheer volume of books out in the world and the extremely limited selection at a neighborhood bookstore.

While his wife drove across the country to Seattle, Bezos tapped out his business plan on a laptop while he tapped potential investors on the phone.

The now legendary business took root in a two car garage in Bellevue, a suburb of Seattle. From the start, Bezos wanted to create a site where people could hang out and talk about books, share reviews and, of course, roam the virtual aisles and make purchases easily and effortlessly.

The “Earth’s Biggest Book Store” opened in July 1995 with a million titles. Orders began to flow in almost immediately. Within a year, the company had grown from just five employees to 100 and racked up sales of $15.7 million. Within three years, sales rose to $610 million with 3,000 employees worldwide.

Of course, as we all know now, books were just the beginning. Bezos and his team quickly discovered that customers wanted more than just books and added an ever expanding list of product categories to keep them coming back for more.

And come back they did. It’s been estimated that fully two-thirds of every person in America with an Internet connection has ordered from Amazon at one time or another. Starting off with just books, the company has continually diversified into new areas, including software and hardware, as evidenced by their best-selling Kindle line of tablets.

Part of the secret sauce of their success is the continual analysis of the data, making often bold decisions based on the slightest trend, or gleaning some trend that no one else in the marketplace had yet seen in their numbers. This, combined with their ability to ship products to customers all over the world, often overnight, transformed consumer expectations about what a shopping experience should be. The aftershocks in some categories, such as clothing and food, are still being felt.

Amazon wisely realized that expanding their offerings was key to success, as was great customer service. While they originally advertised themselves as the world’s biggest bookstore, a claim hotly contested by the bricks and mortar bookstores that were struggling to keep up, Amazon realized that they could use their online commerce system to offer a range of goods, making it easy for Amazon and its third party partners to reach vast numbers of customers. Their mission, “To build a place where people can come to find and discover anything they might want to buy online.”

Most would agree that this Washington Business Legend has largely succeeded and there seems to be no end in sight to their success.

Visit Amazon.com.

Share
Translate »