在六年内从零增加到3亿美元。

商业模型看似简单。 保持较低的成本,并将节省的费用转嫁给会员。 自1983年以来,Costco一直以较低的价格为会员提供企业和个人品牌商品。 这是一个重复的策略,但从未完全实现。

尽管Costco Wholesale Corporation于1983年在西雅图成立,但其历史可以追溯到1976年。那一年,Price Club在圣地亚哥的一个旧飞机机库中开设了他们的第一家仓库。 它最初只对企业开放,但是公司高管很快就发现,将购物扩展到个人可以获得更大的购买力。

这如何适合Costco的故事? 好吧,快进到1993年。那一年Costco和The Price Company合并了。 六年后,该公司完成了重组,成立了以伊萨夸为基地的华盛顿州公司Costco Wholesale Corporation。 该公司在纳斯达克上市,股票代码为“ COST”。

该公司确实是华盛顿的成功故事,也是我们业务传奇之一,业务遍及全球。 这是有史以来第一家从零增长到3亿美元的公司。 到1993年,该公司已在206个地区建立了分支机构,年销售额达16亿美元。 截至2015年底,好市多在美国和波多黎各,加拿大,墨西哥,英国,台湾,韩国,日本和澳大利亚的仓库已增至700个。 如今,销售额约为64亿美元,并且还在不断攀升,该公司拥有约155,000名员工。

除了4.99美元的烤鸡和1.50美元的热狗和苏打水之外,他们成功的秘诀是什么? 据该公司的联合创始人兼董事说,这是保持低成本,消除高档建筑和销售人员之类的装饰,保持较低的日常开支以及维持公司可利用的企业和个人会员水平的能力。

进一步了解 好事多.

而且,如果您保持评分,该公司每年可售出约76万只烤肉鸡和128亿只热狗。

From zero to $3 billion in six years.

The business model is deceptively simple. Keep costs low and pass the savings onto members. Since 1983, Costco has been offering brand name merchandise to businesses and individuals at substantially lower prices to members. It’s been a strategy that has been duplicated, but never quite equaled.

Though Costco Wholesale Corporation began in Seattle in 1983, their roots stretch back to 1976. That was the year Price Club opened their first warehouse store in an old airplane hangar in San Diego. It was originally open only to businesses, but company executives soon figured out that extending shopping to individuals could gain far greater buying power.

How does that fit into the Costco story? Well, fast forward for a moment to 1993. That’s the year Costco and The Price Company merged. Six years later, the company completed its reorganization, creating Costco Wholesale Corporation, a Washington State company based in Issaquah. The company is traded on NASDAQ under the ‘COST’ symbol.

The company is truly a Washington success story and one of our business legends with an international reach. It is the first company ever to grow from zero to $3 billion as quickly as it did. By 1993 the company had 206 locations with $16 billion in annual sales. As of the end of 2015, Costco had grown to nearly 700 warehouses in the U.S. and Puerto Rico, Canada, Mexico, United Kingdom, Taiwan, Korea, Japan and Australia. Today, sales are in the neighborhood of $64 billion and climbing and the company employs approximately 155,000 people.

What’s the secret to their success, besides $4.99 roasted chickens and $1.50 for a hot dog and a soda? According to the company’s co-founder and director, it’s the ability to keep costs low, eliminating frills such as fancy buildings and salespeople, keeping overhead low and maintaining business and individual membership levels that the company can leverage into remarkable buying power.

Learn more about Costco.

And if you’re keeping score, the company sells approximately 76 million rotisserie chickens and 128 million hot dogs a year.

Share
Translate »