不是你父亲的爱情船。

一条已有150年历史的荷兰航运公司的故事在华盛顿州发现了一个安全港,这听起来像是一副水手的毛线,但这是一个真实的故事,不是虚构的。

荷兰美国线徽标故事始于1873年在鹿特丹码头附近。一条新的货运和客运专线Nederlandsche-Amerikaansche Stoomvaart Maatschappij(荷兰-美国轮船公司)开业。 在本世纪初,该公司的船只在欧洲人向美国的大规模移民中继续发挥着核心作用。 超过850,000的移民乘着荷美线(Holland America Line)的船只穿越大西洋,前往埃利斯岛(Ellis Island)。

世界大战的阴影将改变公司的命运。 在第二次世界大战爆发之前,荷美分公司拥有的25艘船中,只有XNUMX艘幸存下来,在轴心国和盟军争夺海上霸权的大西洋海域中。

战后,荷兰美国公司的品牌成为公海探险的代名词。 在有船长或爱船的很早之前,荷兰美国航空就提供了通向世界一些最奇特,最独特的目的地的,经过精心训练和旅行的游轮。 公司始终是创新者,于1895年推出了公司的首个度假邮轮。

但是,航空旅行的时代使跨大西洋服务业告一段落。 为了使自己与众不同并寻找新的市场,荷兰美国公司再次进行了自我改造,将其船体的午夜漆成蓝色,与白色的上层建筑形成鲜明对比,并雇用了全荷兰籍船员来处理甲板服务并寻找新的机会。

这些机会之一就在最后一个伟大的边境-阿拉斯加。 西雅图的一家名为Westours的公司当时几乎锁定了阿拉斯加的游轮市场,不仅在野外进行游轮航行,还为游轮乘客提供了在其自己拥有的酒店中的长期住宿套餐。

这是一个绝配。 Westours需要资金。 荷兰美国需要新的市场。 两家公司同意合并业务,指导Westours成功的A. Kirk Lanterman被任命为Holland America的首席执行官。 应Lanterman的要求,Holland America Lines于1983年将其总部从康涅狄格州的斯坦福德市移至西雅图,以更靠近其最大的邮轮领地。

阿拉斯加的受欢迎程度吸引了另一条邮轮公司嘉年华(Carnival)的注意,该公司六年后收购了荷兰美国公司(Holland America)。 这家新成立的公司现在有了资金来增加新船和扩大服务范围,将邮轮重新引入欧洲。 到1996年,该公司拥有八艘服务于加勒比海,加拿大和新英格兰的航线船。 荷兰美国公司还购买了小圣萨尔瓦多,这是巴哈马的一个私人岛屿,现在被称为半月礁。

如今,该公司已将其总部设在西雅图海滨的新总部。 单一设施容纳了Holland America,Princess和Seabourn生产线,从而提高了运营效率。 占地150,000平方英尺的总部呼应远洋旅行的黄金时代,配有黄铜钟表以标记每个停靠港口的时间,并在中庭的水泥地板上刻有一个大型罗盘。

荷兰美国航空的船队由14艘船组成,每年提供500趟游轮前往415个国家/地区的98个港口。 它是邮轮业高端领域无可争议的领导者,是华盛顿的真正商业传奇。

想进一步了解荷兰美国? 访问邮轮公司的网站.

Not your father’s love boat.

The story of a 150-year-old Dutch shipping line that found a safe harbor in Washington State may sound like a sailor’s yarn, but this is one tall tale that is fact, not fiction.

Holland America Lines logoThe story begins near the Rotterdam docks in 1873. A new cargo and passenger line, the Nederlandsche-Amerikaansche Stoomvaart Maatschappij (Netherlands-America Steamship Company), opened for business. The company’s ships went on to play a central role in the mass migration of Europeans to the United States at the turn of the century. More than 850,000 immigrants traveled across the Atlantic aboard Holland America Line ships, bound for Ellis Island.

The shadow of world war would change the course of the company’s fortunes. Of the 25 ships Holland America had in its fleet before the outbreak of World War II, only nine survived the treacherous Atlantic waters as Axis and Allied forces battled for supremacy at sea.

Following the war, Holland America’s brand became synonymous with the idea of adventure on the high seas. Long before there was a Captain Stubing or a Love Boat, Holland America offered the well-heeled and well-traveled cruises to some of the world’s most exotic and exclusive destinations. Always the innovator, the company’s first vacation cruise was offered in 1895.

But the age of air travel brought transatlantic service to a close. Seeking to differentiate itself and find new markets, Holland America recreated itself yet again, painting its ships’ hulls midnight blue to contrast with the white superstructure, employing an all-Dutch crew to handle deck service and looking for new opportunities.

One of those opportunities turned out to be in the last great frontier, Alaska. A Seattle company, Westours, had a virtual lock on the Alaska cruise market at the time, not only conducting cruises to the wilderness frontier but offering cruise passengers extended stay packages in their company-owned hotels.

It was a perfect match. Westours needed capital. Holland America needed new markets. The two companies agreed to merge operations and A. Kirk Lanterman, who guided Westours’ success, was named CEO of Holland America. At Lanterman’s request, Holland America Lines moved its headquarters from Stamford, Connecticut to Seattle in 1983 to be closer to its biggest cruise territory.

Alaska’s popularity drew the attention of another cruise line, Carnival, which bought Holland America six years later. The freshly capitalized company now had the funds to add new ships and expand service, reintroducing cruises to Europe. By 1996, the company had eight ships of the line serving the Caribbean, Canada and New England. Holland America also purchased Little San Salvador, a private island in the Bahamas which is now known as Half Moon Cay.

Today, the company is anchored in its new headquarters on Seattle’s waterfront. A single facility houses Holland America, Princess and Seabourn lines, creating new efficiencies in operations. The 150,000 square foot headquarters echoes the golden age of oceangoing travel, complete with brass clocks to mark the time in each port of call and a large compass etched into the atrium’s concrete floor.

Holland America’s fleet consists of 14 ships that offer 500 cruises annually to 415 ports in 98 countries. It is the undisputed leader in the premium segment of the cruise industry and a true Washington business legend.

Want to know more about Holland America? Visit the cruise line’s website.

Share
Translate »