在瓶子里的怀旧之情。

正在恢复的黄色和绿色Orca饮料卡车如果您仍然记得含糖软饮料,分别是Moxie,Dad's,Nesbitt's和Bubble Up,您可以感谢Mike Bourgeois和他在华盛顿州Mukilteo装瓶的工厂,使这些记忆永存。

Orca Beverage成立于1980年代,目前在位于西雅图以北约100分钟路程的Mukilteo的小型手工艺瓶装厂中装瓶30种当地和地区美食。

对于Mike来说,起初是一种业余爱好。 当他在西雅图大学商学院学习时,他对“新时代饮料类别”表示赞赏。 该类别是传统碳酸软饮料行业的延伸,但提供了主流品牌的替代品。

这类创新产品的早期创新者包括原始纽约苏打水公司和加拿大清酒公司,它们不仅承诺会带来实际的健康益处,而且都是用真正的果汁和提取物制成的,而不是异乎寻常的难以发音的实验室化学物质清单。

将业余爱好变成生意并不容易。 Mike的某些原始配方(例如Orca Sparkling)中含有来自西北加工商的近50%的果汁。 果汁中的颗粒往往会粘起来,并将装瓶设备塞在他的合同装瓶机上,以至于其中三人要求他将业务转移到其他地方。

经过大量的反复试验,Orca Bottling慢慢了解了手工苏打水的制造工艺。 意识到他们需要自己的装瓶设备,该公司从一家百事可乐装瓶厂购买了设备,该设备已宣布在洪水中完全丧失。 迈克和他的团队花了两年时间从头开始重建设备。 值得称赞的是,那些拒绝了他的合同业务的公司提供了额外的设备,零件和专业知识。

有了一条新的生产线,Orca开始生产瓶装甜食。 在寻找新市场时,迈克偶然发现了复古苏打水的想法,从美国的怀旧热潮和他对1950年代和60年代长大的年轻人的美好回忆中获利。

从那时起,该公司就与100多种复古和特色饮料达成了交易或找出了配方,所有这些饮料都使用真正的蔗糖装在玻璃瓶中,就像原始饮料一样。 他们的一些知名品牌包括布朗尼,泡泡龙,爸爸,古迪,杰克·杰克,基卡波·乔伊果汁和Moxie。 数十年前,其中许多已经从杂货店的货架和消费者的思想中消失了。 其他人则是相对较新的人,具有新的转折和怀旧气息,例如Earp的Original Sarsaparilla。

下次当您进入瓶装怀旧市场时,可以在百事可乐和可乐架子旁边漫步,寻找过去的爆炸,将您带回到童年。 当您在那儿时,请务必感谢Mike Bourgeois和华盛顿自己的Orca饮料,使一切变为可能。

Nostalgia in a bottle.

A yellow and green Orca Beverage truck that is being restoredIf you still remember sugary soft drinks by the name of Moxie, Dad’s, Nesbitt’s and Bubble Up, you can thank Mike Bourgeois and his Mukilteo, Washington bottling plant for keeping those memories alive.

Created in the 1980s, Orca Beverage currently bottles 100 local and regional favorites at its small craft bottling facility in Mukilteo, about 30 minutes north of Seattle.

For Mike, it was something of a hobby at first. He gained his appreciation for the “new age beverage category” when he was in business school at Seattle University. The category was an extension of the traditional carbonated soft drink industry, but offered up alternatives to the mainstream brands.

The early innovators of this category included Original New York Seltzer and Clearly Canadian, which not only promised actual health benefits, but were made with real fruit juices and extracts, not an exotic list of hard to pronounce lab chemicals.

Turning a hobby into a business wasn’t easy. Some of Mike’s original formulations, such as Orca Sparkling, had almost 50% fruit juice from Northwest processors in them. The juice particulates tended to gum up and jam the bottling equipment at his contract bottlers, so much so that three of them asked him to take his business elsewhere.

Through a lot of trial and error that followed, Orca Bottling slowly learned the craft of artisan soda manufacturing. Realizing they needed their own bottling facility, the company bought the equipment from a Pepsi bottling plant that had been declared a total loss in a flood. Mike and his team spent two years rebuilding the equipment from the ground up. To their credit, the companies that had turned down his contract business came to the aid with additional equipment, parts and expertise.

With a new production line ready, Orca started turning out bottles of the sweet stuff. Looking for new markets, Mike stumbled on the idea of retro sodas, cashing in on America’s nostalgia craze and his own fond memories of his youth growing up in the 1950s and 60s.

Since then, the company has made deals or figured out the recipes for more than 100 retro and specialty drinks, all served up in glass bottles using real cane sugar, just like the originals. Some of their familiar brand names include Brownie, Bubble Up, Dad’s, Goodie, Jic Jac, Kickapoo Joy Juice and Moxie. Many of these had faded from grocery shelves and consumer minds decades ago; others are relative newcomers with a new twist and some nostalgic flare, such as Earp’s Original Sarsaparilla.

Next time you’re in the market for nostalgia in a bottle, stroll right by the Pepsi and Coke racks and look for those blasts from the past that will rocket you back to your childhood. And while you’re there, be sure to thank Mike Bourgeois and Washington’s own Orca Beverage for making it all possible.

Share
Translate »